Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

When I refereed in the 1980s, we were taught that a held ball occurs when neither player has control of the ball, but both are trying to get possession. Recently a ref told me its when BOTH have possession? Both of us can't be right?

Asked by rvi777 almost 11 years ago

Here is the definition of "held ball" in the rule book: 

A held ball occurs when 1…opponents have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without due roughness, or 2…an opponent places his/her hands on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try.

In the first instance, control cannot be obtained. In the second instance the offensive player starts with control but then loses the ability (i.e.. control) to pass or shoot. So I think you are splitting hairs - each of you are right and wrong in definition 1 vs 2.

Hello Mr. Referee,

I attach a link to a video about Curry's cathing a ball:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=21&v=YHOGaXtjxZs

Why is that it is not a foul? He is touching the ball with two hands...

Sorry if the question is too lame :)

Asked by isogulaleb over 9 years ago

The link you provided showed Curry being pushed from behind while dunking the ball. In high school it definitely would be a foul, basket good.

In a bonus situation (single or double), player A gets fouled and has to shoot free throws for the orange team, but instead player B for the orange team goes and shoots for him and makes them both. If there is a call, what is it?

Asked by Anonymous almost 10 years ago

Putting the wrong player on the line for free throws is one of 5 correctable errors IF it is recognized by an official no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started. If the wrong person was awarded free throws and it is recognized in a timely fashion, the free throws are cancelled and the correct player is awarded the free throws.So, for example the wrong player makes one of two free throws and then the clock is started and a team makes a field goal (the ball is dead after a made basket). Once the other team obtains the ball to put it in play (the ball is live when it is at the disposal of the throw in player) it is too late to correct the error.You can see what a mess this is - best advice for officials, get it right the first time.

Thank you for the response about me sending you a video to review. My email address is djmikeemike@gmail.com

Asked by Mikegabe over 10 years ago

ok

Offensive player O1 at top of key is guarded by defensive player D1. Offensive teammate O2 is moving to set a pick on D1. O1 starts dribbling and D1 starts moving directly into O2. D1 and O2 are both moving as they collide. any foul call on O2?

Asked by Larrysm about 9 years ago

Here are the screening rules:1) Stationary B1: A2 is setting a pick and B1 can see the pick within his visual field, then A2 can set the pick anywhere short of contact. If B1 cannot see the pick within his visual field, A1 must set the pick no closer than 1 normal step.2) Moving B1: When screening a moving opponent, the rule book says he must be given time and distance to avoid the pick. The speed of the opponent is a key to allowing this distance and may be one or two steps, all in the judgement of the officials3) Moving B1 and A1, the player moving behind the direction they are moving is responsible for contact.

1 pt game, ref gives ball to inbound with 7.6-7.9 secs left and running clock. team does not get ball in until less than 1.5 seconds, so clearly five seconds, but no call. Coach shows ref 6 seconds ran, but no call. What would you do?

Asked by Michael almost 11 years ago

According to NFHS rules, a referee can alter the scoreboard if, and only if he has direct knowledge of the error and correction. So, in this case you start with 7.6 minutes. The throw-in team has 5 seconds to avoid a violation. So theoretically the violation should have been called with 2.6 seconds. You might think that this is the end of it. However, it takes longer to administer a throw in than 2.6 seconds, allowing both teams to set up. So unfortunately I think the game ended. This is why I dislike running clocks in close games.

Can you explain how a charging violation is determined when player A leaves his feet for a shot attempt and lands on player B before touching the ground. Is this a charge? Does it matter if the defense if moving? Thanks.

Asked by PJohnston - Chicago over 10 years ago

The defender must legally obtain the vertical space BEFORE the offensive player alights for a shot. So, if player B legally obtains a place on the floor and Player A crashes into him while coming down from a shot, player control foul on A.

The defensive player can be moving, but the rulebook says he must be moving obliquely, which means the defender cannot move directly into the path of the offensive player. For example a player who is backpedaling and is run over by the offensive player would draw a player control foul on the dribbler. You can also move sideways and backwards as a defender and still draw a charge.