Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

does arrow on change of possesion change if team doesn't get ball inbounds?

Asked by Jeff over 9 years ago

yes, the arrow changes once the ball it at the disposal of the throw in player.

Can I email you a video and can you tell me if it is travelling? I have an ongoing argument and I need to put it to rest. Thank you.

Asked by Mike about 10 years ago

Sure. put in your email address and I will contact you.

When a player gets fouled but the coach sends another player to shoot the free throw?

Asked by Dave almost 10 years ago

Yes, the referees are in charge of designating who is entitled to shoot bonus or shooting fouls. Coaches designate who will shoot technicals.

As a best practice, when the foul calling official calls the foul, the nearest other official should come in and point to the shooter and verbalize, "I got the shooter". This is better than the other official saying, " the shooter is number XX" because to reporting official can get tangled up with the shooter and fouler's numbers.

Team A shoots the ball. A long rebound to the 3pt line. Both teams trying for possession, Team A tips the ball into backcourt. Team A secures rebound in backcourt. Is this over and back? There was no possession in front court after shot.

Asked by Rmwttn almost 10 years ago

If team A controlled the tap, then they established team control, and it would be a backcourt violation. If in the judgement of the officials team A did not control the tap, then no violation.

offensive player drives to the basket and makes the shot .
a foul is called by the ref on the defensive player . however he said the foul was after the shot was made
defensive player gets the foul and the defensive team gets the ball ?

Asked by paul mcgrath over 10 years ago

Ok. Situation 1: Offensive player A1 drives, shoots the ball while in the air and is fouled by defensive player B1 (before A1 returns to the floor). A1 is considered an "airborne shooter" until he hits the ground and is considered in the act of shooting. Count the basket and award one free throw.

Situation 2: Offensive player A1 drives, shoots the ball and lands back on the floor and is fouled by B1. Possession ended when the shot is released and the shooter is no longer an airborne shooter in the act when he lands on the floor. So when he is on the floor it is a common foul on B1 and award the ball to team A or free throws if in bonus. Count the basket by A1.

Situation 3: Offensive player A1 shoots the ball, ball goes in, and A1 crashes illegally (before landing on the floor) into B1 who has obtained legal guarding position, player control foul on A1. Ball goes to team B and no free throws. Wipe out made basket by A1.

Situation 4: Offensive player A1 shoots the ball, lands on the floor, ball goes in and A1 fouls B1. Count the basket. Common foul on A1, free throws for B1 if in bonus, otherwise ball goes to team B.

I jump out of bounds to save a ball, ball gets saved (bounces a couple of times), I go in bounds to get the ball. I dribble the ball then I get called for travel. Is this a bad call? I haven't established clear possession yet.

Asked by tonyastro over 9 years ago

If you directed the ball purposely (saved the ball from going out of bounds) by redirecting the ball in a controlled way that constitutes possession. Ref's judgement as to whether you controlled the loose ball, or not.

When I refereed in the 1980s, we were taught that a held ball occurs when neither player has control of the ball, but both are trying to get possession. Recently a ref told me its when BOTH have possession? Both of us can't be right?

Asked by rvi777 almost 11 years ago

Here is the definition of "held ball" in the rule book: 

A held ball occurs when 1…opponents have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without due roughness, or 2…an opponent places his/her hands on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try.

In the first instance, control cannot be obtained. In the second instance the offensive player starts with control but then loses the ability (i.e.. control) to pass or shoot. So I think you are splitting hairs - each of you are right and wrong in definition 1 vs 2.