Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

My question is, if a team player steals the ball from the other team, try's to bring to his basket and misses the basket and buzzer goes off, can a referee extend time of 4 10ths of a second because she said the other team fouled the player?

Asked by Antonietta over 9 years ago

No. The officials cannot extend time. The only adjustment that officials can make is if they have specific knowledge of a clock discrepancy. For example, if a referee grants a timeout but notices that the clock ran some time after the whistle was blown.

Can you explain how a charging violation is determined when player A leaves his feet for a shot attempt and lands on player B before touching the ground. Is this a charge? Does it matter if the defense if moving? Thanks.

Asked by PJohnston - Chicago over 10 years ago

The defender must legally obtain the vertical space BEFORE the offensive player alights for a shot. So, if player B legally obtains a place on the floor and Player A crashes into him while coming down from a shot, player control foul on A.

The defensive player can be moving, but the rulebook says he must be moving obliquely, which means the defender cannot move directly into the path of the offensive player. For example a player who is backpedaling and is run over by the offensive player would draw a player control foul on the dribbler. You can also move sideways and backwards as a defender and still draw a charge.

While in the air, grabbing a rebound, in one motion I land on both feet and the ball touches the ground with it in both my hands, never letting it go, what can't I do?

Asked by Audelio almost 9 years ago

If your hands are on top of the ball pushing it to the floor it is double dribble. If the ball drops and you pick it up it could be a muff, and if you lift one foot the other will be the pivot. Then you can dribble.

team A inbounding ball under their offensive hoop. ball is thrown in, inadvertently the horn goes off {20 left on shot clock}, Team A lays it in. good hoop or not?.. call made was inadvertent whistle, no hoop {neither ref actually blew a whistle}

Asked by midd44 almost 10 years ago

There is a long running example of this in previous case books from NFHS: "If the scorer signals the horn when the ball is live, the officials shall ignore the signal if a scoring play is in progress. Otherwise the officials may stop play to determine why the horn was sounded."

In your scenario, count the basket, then blow the whistle (because a scoring play was going on while the horn was originally sounded.

What does a player do to deliberately miss a free throw but not get called for essentially not trying to make it? Situation: 2 seconds left, down 2 pts, one free throw coming. My kid wants to miss and get a tap in. Thanks.

Asked by Rod K about 10 years ago

A free thrower is not obligated to make the free throw. He must hit the ring and not violate other free throw provisions (entering the lane early, etc.). Most players in that situation should throw a flat shot towards the ring, barely ever going above the rim.

Hello Mr. Referee,

I attach a link to a video about Curry's cathing a ball:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=21&v=YHOGaXtjxZs

Why is that it is not a foul? He is touching the ball with two hands...

Sorry if the question is too lame :)

Asked by isogulaleb over 9 years ago

The link you provided showed Curry being pushed from behind while dunking the ball. In high school it definitely would be a foul, basket good.

Player A and Player B are fighting for a ball that is heading toward out of bounds.
Player B in his efforts ends up out of bounds and keep in mind has not touched the ball while going out of bounds, so it is still a live play
Player A while still in

Asked by Jeff almost 10 years ago

The ball is inbounds until the ball touches any out of bounds area, or it touches a player who is out of bounds. If A is still inbounds and the ball is still inbounds, it is not out of bounds until an out of bounds player touches it.