Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Dear ref,

How much u get $ per a match ?


Thx
John from Czech republic

Asked by jan.lejcko@gmail.com over 10 years ago

High school varsity games pay about $60 - $75 for single game assignments. Underclass double headers (i.e. 2 freshman games) pay $80 - $100. I know that some states will give the referees a percentage of the gate for well attended, big match ups. These are rough numbers - it varies by location, parochial vs public, suburban vs city, etc.

Hello Mr. Referee,

I attach a link to a video about Curry's cathing a ball:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=21&v=YHOGaXtjxZs

Why is that it is not a foul? He is touching the ball with two hands...

Sorry if the question is too lame :)

Asked by isogulaleb over 9 years ago

The link you provided showed Curry being pushed from behind while dunking the ball. In high school it definitely would be a foul, basket good.

Is it legal for the official to remove a player from the game after a flagrant foul:
There was about 5 secs left, our point guard intentionally(harshly) fouls opponent, is ejected, the ref attempts to scoot him off, our player shoves off, legal?J.H.

Asked by Casey over 9 years ago

A single flagrant foul results in a disqualification in NFHS rules.

Follow-up: Is this the correct call to make? Calling the technical % wise giving the advantage to the offending team. Free lay-up is guaranteed 2 points. Assume FT% is 80% and avg team fg % .3-.4. Calling the tech seems to remove there advantage.

Asked by Ryan almost 10 years ago

True. It is the same halt in advantage as an intentional foul which stops a breakaway. The rules try to take care of this by awarding 2 free throws plus the ball. However, I agree. Although I never ran into an intentional T to stop a breakaway, it would be good practice to let the player finish the layup or jump shot and then call the T.

Follow up to the block/charge question 2 down. For screens, when a defender is blind to a screen they may take a huge hit. I see this called a foul on the screener ~75% of the time. Is that call correct? Is the screener flexing his shoulder illegal?

Asked by Bball Right about 10 years ago

Here are the screening rules:1) when screening a stationary opponent from the front or side, the screener may be anywhere short of contact.2) when screening a stationary opponent from behind the screener must allow the opponent one normal step backward3) when screening a moving opponent the screener must allow the opponent time and distance to avoid contact. The speed of the player to be screened will determine where the screener may set up. This may vary and may be one to two normal steps.4) when screening a player moving in the same direction, the player behind is responsible for all contact.

What does a player do to deliberately miss a free throw but not get called for essentially not trying to make it? Situation: 2 seconds left, down 2 pts, one free throw coming. My kid wants to miss and get a tap in. Thanks.

Asked by Rod K about 10 years ago

A free thrower is not obligated to make the free throw. He must hit the ring and not violate other free throw provisions (entering the lane early, etc.). Most players in that situation should throw a flat shot towards the ring, barely ever going above the rim.

COACH YELLS FOR A TIMEOUT WHILE THE BALL IS NOT IN CONTROL BY EITHER TEAM. WOULD YOU EVER CONSIDER GIVING THEM A TECHNICAL FOUL FOR THIS?

Asked by AL over 9 years ago

If I thought that it was a legitimate attempt at a time out, or if it happens the first time then I would ignore the request. If I thought the coach was purposely trying to interfere with the ordinary flow of the game by asking for a time out without possession then I would call an unsportsmanlike technical.