Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Watching the Pitt/Jax game. A. Brown catches a pass and goes out of bounds. The clock keeps running. Huh?

Asked by Doug almost 8 years ago

First, in the NFL, outside of two minutes remaining in each half, the clock is started once the ball is spotted after the runner goes out of bounds. And the clock is stopped when a runner goes OOB. Now, in your situation, the only thing I can think of is that Brown had forward progress and then was pushed OOB. In that case, he technically didn't go out of bounds. Rather, he was stopped while in bounds and that ended the play. Not the going OOB.

Hi - The other night in a HS game, the K team punted to the R team. After the ball was blown dead, the BJ stopped the R team players from leaving the field. He then counted 12 players and threw a flag. Once a play is blown dead, can he then count the

Asked by N.E. Fan about 8 years ago

While unusual, it's the right thing to do. It may be that the official, possibly getting to it late or the offense ran the play quickly, was in the process of counting when the play went off. Yes, the official should be counting "faster" but the idea is to get it right. He did. If the official thought he had 12, a less than perfect solution could be to stop play if he thinks he has 12, count, then flag it. If there are 11, play on.

During the kickoff following the KC chiefs touchdown in the 1st quarter of the Thursday night game (October 19, 2017) . The returner didn’t down the ball, but toss it to a ball boy in the back of the end zone. Shouldn’t that be a safety?

Asked by Vance about 8 years ago

If a player "gives himself up" (clearly indicates he is not running it out), the referee will whistle the play dead. Tossing it to the ball boy likely occurred after the whistle blew.

I saw a recent NFL game where the punter tackled the punt returner. To what extent is it legal to block the punter? I recall a rule making the punter "protected," even when he's running downfield to possibly tackle the kick returner.

Asked by Bridgbum almost 9 years ago

Once the punter has kicked and recovers and goes to be involved in the play (going after/tackling a runner) he's a player and is no different than any other player. Same with a QB after an interception. If the QB goes to tackle and participates in the play, he's fair game. If he just stands there, then you can't hit him.

If a member of the punting team touches the ball on the 2 yard line, and knocks it into the end zone where his teammate covers the ball, is it a touchback?

Asked by James Dean about 7 years ago

Yes. The axiom is "a kick is a kick is a kick". If K touches the ball, it is "illegal" or "first" touching, depending on the level (HS, NCAA). But the ball as you describe it is still considered a kick, so being downed in the endzone makes it a touchback.

I've been a Ram fan since 67,my question is why was the 1967 playoff game between the Los Angeles Rams and the Green Bay Packers played at Lambeau field instead of Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum? The Rams had a better record plus they beat the Packers

Asked by Roy H over 8 years ago

I'm anot official, not a football historian.

I currently coach WR and DB, can you help me with the rules for WRs on cut blocks?

Asked by matt about 8 years ago

Can someone help me? I'm guessing you're a college coach since low blocks are prohibited in high school. The rules have changed a number of times over the last several years and each time they do, there's a new "wrinkle"....or crease.

Can't possibly do it justice or be complete here, but blocks need to be in the "10 to 2" (o'clock) range as viewed by the blocker. But this year it was interpreted that the initial contact has to be from that direction. In other words, even if the hit is in the 10-2 area, the "attack" by the blocker has to be within that arc when initiated. Clear? Yeah, me neither. With wide receivers, they must - since they are initially outside the tackle box - either block above the waist or attack the 10-2 zone and initiate the attack from that direction. It's challenging to explain without visuals. That may be as good as I can get it - sorry.