Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Why can't the ball be snapped to the center of the hash marks for a field goal? Must the ball be snapped directly backwards in these situations? (To move a field goal attempt to the middle versus kicking from the hash marks)

Asked by Football noob almost 8 years ago

The ball is snapped based on where it ends up after the previous play. If the play ends outside the hash (between hash and sideline) it is brought back to the hash for the next snap. If it is incomplete, it is returned to where it was last snapped. If it ends between the hashes, it is snapped at the spit where the play ended. You don't table a choice of where to place the ball.

can an offensive lineman be called for a block in the back when a rusher beats them to try and get to the quarterback

Asked by umpref15 over 8 years ago

I will definitively say, maybe. If the lineman maintains contact with the rusher and the opponent ends up facing away from the blocker, then no. It's continuous action and the original contact - that was legal - is continuing. However, if the defender gets past him and contact is lost, and then the O lineman pushes him in the back, then yes it can be IBB.

On a kickoff, say the receiver catches the ball straddling the endzone, he hesitates, and here's the other team. He can't go fwd., he may get a safety, so he decides to throw the ball out of bounds. An illegal forward pass but they keep the ball?

Asked by Scott over 7 years ago

Hey, coach! Tell your player to either catch it in the field of play or in the endzone. No indecision!!

Generally, officials will give the player the benefit of the doubt and say he's in the endzone. But if he is obviously straddling the line as you describe, he's caused all of us problems. It matters where the ball is, not the player. But if he throws it, he just screwed the pooch. If he throws it backwards, it's alive and the kicking team could recover it. If he throws it out of bounds backwards, it's a safety. If he throws it forward from the endzone, it's an illegal forward pass and the penalty is marked from the spot of the foul -- safety.

Watching the Pitt/Jax game. A. Brown catches a pass and goes out of bounds. The clock keeps running. Huh?

Asked by Doug over 7 years ago

First, in the NFL, outside of two minutes remaining in each half, the clock is started once the ball is spotted after the runner goes out of bounds. And the clock is stopped when a runner goes OOB. Now, in your situation, the only thing I can think of is that Brown had forward progress and then was pushed OOB. In that case, he technically didn't go out of bounds. Rather, he was stopped while in bounds and that ended the play. Not the going OOB.

Hi - The other night in a HS game, the K team punted to the R team. After the ball was blown dead, the BJ stopped the R team players from leaving the field. He then counted 12 players and threw a flag. Once a play is blown dead, can he then count the

Asked by N.E. Fan almost 8 years ago

While unusual, it's the right thing to do. It may be that the official, possibly getting to it late or the offense ran the play quickly, was in the process of counting when the play went off. Yes, the official should be counting "faster" but the idea is to get it right. He did. If the official thought he had 12, a less than perfect solution could be to stop play if he thinks he has 12, count, then flag it. If there are 11, play on.

If a interference penalty is called in the e.z. and it is the last play of the half, the ball is placed at the one, but on the ensuing play, the offense is called for pre snap movement, is the extra play still runafter a 5 yard march off.

Asked by bucky110 almost 8 years ago

Placed at the one in the NFL, at the 2 in NCAA play. If there was a false start, then there was no play. Yes, the five-yard penalty is enforced and then the offense runs the untimed down from the 6 or 7, depending on the level. In high school, it is simply a 15 yard penalty from the previos spot.

During the kickoff following the KC chiefs touchdown in the 1st quarter of the Thursday night game (October 19, 2017) . The returner didn’t down the ball, but toss it to a ball boy in the back of the end zone. Shouldn’t that be a safety?

Asked by Vance over 7 years ago

If a player "gives himself up" (clearly indicates he is not running it out), the referee will whistle the play dead. Tossing it to the ball boy likely occurred after the whistle blew.