Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

I saw a recent NFL game where the punter tackled the punt returner. To what extent is it legal to block the punter? I recall a rule making the punter "protected," even when he's running downfield to possibly tackle the kick returner.

Asked by Bridgbum about 8 years ago

Once the punter has kicked and recovers and goes to be involved in the play (going after/tackling a runner) he's a player and is no different than any other player. Same with a QB after an interception. If the QB goes to tackle and participates in the play, he's fair game. If he just stands there, then you can't hit him.

What are the odds that all 8 division winners go 6-0 in division games?

Asked by Franklin over 7 years ago

I don't know....what are they?

And what does that have to do with officiating?

can an offensive lineman be called for a block in the back when a rusher beats them to try and get to the quarterback

Asked by umpref15 over 8 years ago

I will definitively say, maybe. If the lineman maintains contact with the rusher and the opponent ends up facing away from the blocker, then no. It's continuous action and the original contact - that was legal - is continuing. However, if the defender gets past him and contact is lost, and then the O lineman pushes him in the back, then yes it can be IBB.

If the offense snaps the ball over the head of the QB into the endzone and during the scrambel for the ball it is knocked out of the back of the endzone is that a safety?

Asked by Dan over 7 years ago

Yes. Unless something else happens that isn't described here, it was the offense that put the ball in its own end zone. If it goes out, it's their responsibility. If they recover it there, it's a safety. And if the defense recovers, it's a touchdown

The tackle box is the area that's from the left side offensive tackles to the right side OT and is 5 yards deep on the defense. My question is, if there's a defensive end aligned with an outside shade on the OT, would that still be considered the box

Asked by Bret about 8 years ago

It's based on the offensive formation, not where the defense is. The DE's position is irrelevant.

During the kickoff following the KC chiefs touchdown in the 1st quarter of the Thursday night game (October 19, 2017) . The returner didn’t down the ball, but toss it to a ball boy in the back of the end zone. Shouldn’t that be a safety?

Asked by Vance over 7 years ago

If a player "gives himself up" (clearly indicates he is not running it out), the referee will whistle the play dead. Tossing it to the ball boy likely occurred after the whistle blew.

Grif Whalen calls a fair catch. The ball hits his facemask and bounces up. While the ball is in the air, is the defender allowed to grab it?

Asked by Rick over 7 years ago

Yes. As long as he doesn't impede the rrceiver's opportunity to catch.