Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
You You have a live ball foul, roughing the kicker, and a dead ball foul come the late hit. And we're going to enforce both. A is going to keep the ball because B got the ball with "dirty hands". So we enforce the 15 yd penalty for roughing first. which gives A the first down. But then we enforce the late hit against A and bring it back 15 yd. So therefore we have A 1/10 @ A20. We're enforcing both fouls.
Good question. In high school, no kick can be run out of the endzone. In college a grounded kick (one that has touched the ground) in the endzone, is also dead. If a receiver catches the ball in the endzone in college, it is still alive and can be run out.
Uuuuh, that's strange. Why didn't they just give you the ball.
I think what you're describing is forward handing. That is a foul since the ball was handed (or "snatched") forward. It's like a hand off by the receivers on a punt or kickoff The ball usually is handed to the player running behind, not to the player in front to avoid the penalty.
By rule, that is not a touchdown. And that's the case at any level of football
Election Inspector
Radio program/music director
Police Officer
I can't think of a time it's not, so yes. But by asking the question, you obviously heard of, or saw, something that didn't go that way.
You're asking questions of philosophy, something that isn't in the rule book. First, it depends who is calling the timeout, offense or defense. The defense often waits to the last second to call it in order to "ice" the kicker. But if the snap is in the process of going off, it is possible for the timeout to not be granted. You ask about the whistle blowing "very slightly" after the snap; that probably means it was asked for prior to the snap. When you see the snap go and the kick made as whistles are being blown, the timeout was granted prior to the snap - the kick will not count. Usually, for the offense the timeout is granted.
On field fame officials are not responsible for statistics. Can't help.
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)