Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

How do you add a player to IR slot on NFL Fantasy?

Asked by Manan almost 9 years ago

That has nothing to do with officiating. You asked that of me....why?

Is it pass interference if a d-player is running behind the o-player on a pass upfield but the ball is thrown short so the o-player comes back against the d-player but the d-payer doesn't have time to react and never turns around?

Asked by jp-pats about 9 years ago

Technically as you describe it, the defender is still moving forward and is not playing the ball. They both have a right to the ball and - again - as you describe it the receiver turns to play the ball. If the defender continues going through the receiver, that defensive pass interference.

I have watched both Tennessee and Alabama receiving backs on kickoffs to them, let the football go over their head and land in the end zone and not go out. They did not ground the ball even though it had traveled over 10 yards and to me, was live.

Asked by Wally almost 9 years ago

But to the Rules Committee and the officials, it is not. Rule 6-1-7-a states: "When a free kick untouched by Team B (receivers) touches the ground on or behind Team B's goal line, the ball becomes dead and belongs to Team B." In the NFL it is still alive.

if a high school receiver catches a ball in the air and brushes the goal post before he contacts the ground is he in or out of bounds

Asked by fred about 9 years ago

The goal post is out of bounds. By touching the goal post before touching the ground in bounds, the receiver is out of bounds. Incomplete pass.

If an opposing players hand is on the ground and out of bounce and a running back carry the football steps on the hand yet never steps on the ground out of bounce other than the hand, is the running back considered out of bounce?

Asked by Geese31 almost 9 years ago

A player who touches anything or anyone that is out if bounds makes that player out of bounds. So yes.

If a player is running down the sideline for a touchdown, ball is in one hand extended over the out of bounds line, runs into the Endzone, ball still extended, he never steps out however the ball is extended outside the pile on, is it still a td?

Asked by Tim almost 9 years ago

Yes. In that case it's the "goal line extended". The player is in bounds as he crosses; the ball also is considered to have crossed the GL.

In the NCAA,is it legal to hand the ball forward no then pass the ball?

Asked by Mark R. almost 9 years ago

As long as the passer is behind the line of scrimmage then yes.