Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

If a player is running down the sideline for a touchdown, ball is in one hand extended over the out of bounds line, runs into the Endzone, ball still extended, he never steps out however the ball is extended outside the pile on, is it still a td?

Asked by Tim about 9 years ago

Yes. In that case it's the "goal line extended". The player is in bounds as he crosses; the ball also is considered to have crossed the GL.

In the NCAA,is it legal to hand the ball forward no then pass the ball?

Asked by Mark R. about 9 years ago

As long as the passer is behind the line of scrimmage then yes.

Can a receiving team player catch a kick off in the field of play and back into his own end zone for a touchback?

Asked by Gpo about 9 years ago

He can back up, but if he kneels or is tackled there it's a safety.

NCAA Onside kick scenario: Team A kicks off and recovers onside kick after it travels 10 yards with no touching by team B. Does any time come off the game clock?

Asked by Wyvrn164 almost 9 years ago

With one exception the answer is yes. If a receiver catches the ball while on the ground then no time comes off - touching and being down are at the same moment. In all other scenarios- whether it's K or R - some time comes off. The clock starts with legal touching in the field of play. K cannot advance it so the clock would wind and then be stopped.

when a Line Backer, hits the running back or whoever is with the ball with face mask to face mask collision, is that considering targeting?

Asked by leonardo over 9 years ago

In college, technically the answer is yes. Rule 9-1-4 Note 2: "Leading with helmet, shoulder, forearm, fist, hand or elbow to attack with forcible contact at the head or neck area". Would it be called? Maybe, mabe not. It is a bang-bang play and when there isn't a launch or a crouch and upward drive by the tacker, it's a bit tougher to call. But if it's on film - and it is - and a supervisor sees that you didn't call it, you've got a problem. At the very least, you have a personal foul.

During a match referee awards a penalty, can a player replace his goal keeper only for the kick? if yes does he change his jersey.

Asked by Christopher Fernandes over 9 years ago

Hmmm, wrong football. Sorry, can't help.

"A" team scored a TD and "B" team got a 15yd penalty for roughing the kicker which will be given to "B" team after kick off. If "B" team runs the kick off back for TD, what happens to the 15yd penalty?

Asked by Brent almost 9 years ago

It wouldn't be after the kickoff, it would be on the kickoff. The penalty is assessed before the ball is kicked off.