Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

If a receiver catches a pass (let's say for 40 yards) and then fumbles the ball. The opposing team recovers the fumble and returns it for a touchdown. Does the receiver still get the 40 yards added to his stats?

Asked by austivino almost 10 years ago

That's not really an official's issue, it's stats. But my guess is that he does receive credit. He caught it and gained the yards. That's hoe the ball got to where it was.

The placeholder's knee is down on the ground when the center snaps the ball to him. Is the play dead?

Asked by edjaygouge almost 10 years ago

No. This keeps coming up. Why?

if a lineman is pushing the pile and the runner has not been tackled still standing, would they call the play dead or what would happen?

Asked by tray almost 9 years ago

It isn't the lieman's action, it's the runner. If the runner is stopped - even if the lineman is pushing - that's forward progress and the play ends. The runner very well could be upright, but if his legs aren't moving, or if his feet come off the ground, that's or ward progress and the play is over.

Can Arsenal qualify for 2016-17 Champions league if Liverpool win Europa League, Man U win FA Cup assuming Arsenal is 4th, also what if Man City win Champions League and Arsenal are 3rd in the Premier League

Asked by Vishal over 9 years ago

Wrong football.

a pass was blocked, the ball hit the ground, the quarterback caught the bounce, threw again, incomplete, offense was called for illegal second forward pass and penalized. Q) Wasn't the ball and play dead when the ball hit the ground the first time?

Asked by becidaguy over 9 years ago

Once the forward pass - off the block - hits the ground, it is an incomplete pass. Not sure what was seen by crew.

A youth FB game I assume HS Federation rules. A ball was snapped over the QB's head as the def was going for the ball he pushed the QB in the back, knocked him down. The def recovered the ball for a TD. A Blk in the back was called correct call? Exp

Asked by Ken almost 9 years ago

See Matt's question above. No foul

During the Seahawks vs Eagles game on 11/20/16, with 11:50 remaining in the first quarter, the Eagles kicked a touchback. Why did the Seahawks began their first down on the 20 yard line instead of the 25 yard line per the NFL rule change for 2016?

Asked by Mark W over 8 years ago

I'm guessing it was a punt. As with NCAA rules, touch backs on kickoffs (free kicks) come out to the 25. All other touch backs go to the 20.