Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Would it be considered off sides on the kick off when the kickers left foot passes the ball right before he kicks it?

Asked by buddabondssilvercity over 9 years ago

No. This was asked recently. Kicker is the only player who can be in advance of the line.

In NCAA rules, if there are 5 players numbered 50-74 on the line, but one of them is uncovered on the end, & thus technically an eligible reciever, is that an illegal formation? Must they report as eligible or ineligible?

Asked by Renegades Special Teams Coach over 9 years ago

There is no reporting as there is in the NFL. An ineligible number on the end of the line is just that, and only that. The formation is not illegal. You need five on the line numbered 50-79, and in this scenario you have that. They are ineligible to catch a pass regardless of where they are. But if one of them is on the end of the line, it also means that an eligible receiver is likely covered somewhere else.

If a field goal kicker kicks the ball and it somehow deflects off a referee and goes through the uprights, is the field goal try good?

Asked by LASooner over 10 years ago

Yes. Officials are "part of the field". Same as if a player tipped it and it went through. But that's gotta sting!

I played high school and college football (D3). I coached HS football for 6 years. I am a special ed teacher in high school (12 yrs). How do I become a college referee? I only want to do lower divisions, D3, D2, NAIA.

Asked by Matt over 9 years ago

A lot depends on your location. Once upon a time, you didn't become a college official unless you had a good number of years (5-10) of working high school. Today, it's not that difficult t get seen, although it may cost you some money. There are a number of clinics that you pay to attend and get trained; you can Google that. They are run by individuals who have their connections (to the NFL and P5 conferences) and can get you "seen". You could also contact a local D3 or D2 college and ask the AD who assigns his games and try going through that person or group. I'm also guessing from your info that you're in your mid 30's - that's not a bad age to start but when I started in college at 37, I had ten years of HS ball. I hope this helps; good luck.

in the recent lsu/fla game a fake field goal was performed by lsu..upon receiving the snap the holder immediatley threw a pass to the kicker while his knee was down..should he have raised up before throwing for this to be a fair play..

Asked by Philip almost 10 years ago

Nope. If he went up to catch a high snap, he can still return to hold the snap. He could also throw as you describe. If he stands (for no other reason than he wants to) and then returns to the ground, he is down. Dead ball.

Polson punted the ball. A Polson Player ran down the field - touched the ball in mid air on a bounce but never possessed it. The returner picked up ball and ran wrong way in Polson endzone, was tackled, fumbled and Polson recovered. No whistle.

Asked by Polson High School FBall Fan almost 10 years ago

If I'm understanding correctly what you're saying, you have an illegal touch by the kicking team ('touched the ball in mid air on a bounce but never possessed it."). The receiving team has the right to take the ball at that spot. Which they did. I think they got that right.

If a receiver catches a pass (let's say for 40 yards) and then fumbles the ball. The opposing team recovers the fumble and returns it for a touchdown. Does the receiver still get the 40 yards added to his stats?

Asked by austivino about 10 years ago

That's not really an official's issue, it's stats. But my guess is that he does receive credit. He caught it and gained the yards. That's hoe the ball got to where it was.