Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Under NCAA rules, if a receiver is forced out of bounds by a defender at what point is the receiver allowed to touch the ball on a forward pass? Does the receiver first need to re-establish himself in-bounds? If the receiver has yet to set foot in-bounds, he first touches the ball while both feet are in the air, he gets both feet in bounds while reeling in the ball and then controls the ball to the ground, is this a completion? Here’s an example to see exactly what happened (38-second mark): https://youtu.be/JvckMTak2Y4?t=38s Here’s another angle (2 minutes, 50 seconds): https://youtu.be/jjZRFng-6nI?t=2m50s This was ruled a touchdown. Thanks!

Asked by Bass almost 10 years ago

If a receiver is forced out of bounds he must return immediately to regain eligibility. If he goes out on his own, then a defender must first touch the ball before the receiver can. He must re-establish himself (on the ground) so catching in the air after going out of bounds makes the ball dead when he hits the ground. Sorry, but I couldn't access the video.

QB throws a backwards pass to a receiver who makes a clean catch. The receiver ends up running with the ball and makes it back to the line of scrimmage. For stat purposes, does the receiver get this recorded as a Rush attempt and if not, how is it recorded? This play happened in Super Bowl 50. Cam Newton threw backwards pass to Ted Ginn Jr. and he ended up running with the ball for no gain.

Asked by BB over 9 years ago

Stats are not in the purview of field officials. The official box score from the game does not show Ginn with any rushes so my guess it's a pass for both QB and receiver.

Ala - Aub. The kickoff touched in field of play by Ala player rolls into end zone. If not brought out by other player, that would have been a safety, right?

Asked by skub over 9 years ago

I'm reading an Auburn KO. If it is touched by Ala in the field of play it is still a kick. If it goes into the endzone and is covered by Alabama, it is a touchback. It was the kick that put the ball in the endzone.

Curious: How many people are on the field during an NFL game? Including players, coaches, trainers, NFL people, security, photographers etc...

Asked by Rolliet over 9 years ago

Too many. It will vary based on the size of staffs, number of media. You're talking easily 150 and likely way more. At least 50 players on each team, a dozen coaches for each team, staffs of maybe 20 or more. It goes on.....

the receiving team commits a personal foul penalty during a punt while the ball is in the air. who retains the ball?

Asked by tom over 9 years ago

We'll keep it simple and give you the basics. For college play, it is post-scrimmage kick enforcement, Rule 10-2-3. It is B's (receiver's) ball as long as they have possession of the ball at the end of the play.

Why when a team gains enough for a first down, and a dead ball foul happens after the play. Why is it 1st and 10 instead of 1st and 25?

Asked by carp77 almost 10 years ago

Until the sticks are set, you're still in that interval period. So the penalty is enforced, then thesticks are set 1 & 10. If a dead ball foul occurs after they're set, you then have 1 & 25.

RE: "Onside Punt". After a safety, the "punting" team kicks from the 20. However, if they want to "onside" punt, what rules apply? Is it like a normal punt, that the receiving team does not necessarily have to field?

Asked by Rollie almost 10 years ago

A kick after a safety - whether a punt or placed on ground - is a free kick. Any free kick can be recovered by either team. So, it isn't like any punt, it's like a "kickoff". An "onside" punt would probably not be a good idea.