Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

In the following play:
http://www.tubechop.com/watch/7372020
it seems that is a touchdown celebration, dead-ball foul... but would you call that a live-ball foul, and take out the points?
This game is from Uruguay, NCAA Rules. Thanks a lot!

Asked by Spartan almost 10 years ago

Uruguay! Wow!

Based on what I can see, the runner holds the ball over his head prior to getting to the endzone. The foul occurs at that spot and it is a live ball foul. Points come off he board, 15 yards from that spot.

Is it illegal to put twin receivers both on the line if the inside receiver doesn't go out for a pass

Asked by jai about 10 years ago

Talk college and HS first. You can cover a receiver, but he then is no longer eligible to go out for a pass by his position (he isn't an end or back). You still need five players numbered between 50 and 79 on the line.

In the NFL, I believe that is illegal. You cannot have an ineligible number on the end of the line, which you would with a receiver inside. The ineligible player on the end could report in to the referee and be announced as eligible (you'll hear the ref announce "Number 79 is reporting in as eligible.") Then you'd be good.

I play semi pro football and we use standard college rules in a recent game i was on defense and we blocked the extra point the offense then advanced the blocked kick and was awarded a 2pt conversion. Is this legal i have never seen this happen.

Asked by Dtackle #42 over 9 years ago

It's good. Rule 6-3-1 says: ARTICLE 1. a. A scrimmage kick that fails to cross the neutral zone continues in play. All players may catch or recover the ball behind the neutral zone andadvance it.

The ball was still alive.

Ala - Aub. The kickoff touched in field of play by Ala player rolls into end zone. If not brought out by other player, that would have been a safety, right?

Asked by skub almost 10 years ago

I'm reading an Auburn KO. If it is touched by Ala in the field of play it is still a kick. If it goes into the endzone and is covered by Alabama, it is a touchback. It was the kick that put the ball in the endzone.

WRT the ball Polson punted. No whistle was blown at any time. Officials huddled for 5 minutes and then gave the ball to Columbia Falls at point where Columbia Falls fielded the ball before he ran wrong way into endzone. This seems way wrong to me.

Asked by Polson High School FBall Fan about 10 years ago

see above

On the TD by the sumersalting Steelers receiver since the ball was moving up the back of his leg and after he controlled it he only had one foot down, was it not called incomplete?

Asked by Chip almost 10 years ago

I did not see the play, and I don't know that anyone knows what a catch is in the NFL. But I'll guess. It's the ball, not the player, that needs to be in the endzone. If the ball is in control in the endzone, it's a score.

In NCAA rules, if there are 5 players numbered 50-74 on the line, but one of them is uncovered on the end, & thus technically an eligible reciever, is that an illegal formation? Must they report as eligible or ineligible?

Asked by Renegades Special Teams Coach over 9 years ago

There is no reporting as there is in the NFL. An ineligible number on the end of the line is just that, and only that. The formation is not illegal. You need five on the line numbered 50-79, and in this scenario you have that. They are ineligible to catch a pass regardless of where they are. But if one of them is on the end of the line, it also means that an eligible receiver is likely covered somewhere else.