Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Why are the pylons out-of bounds but is called TD if touched-look where they are.

Asked by pschamplin about 10 years ago

Why, in soccer, is the sideline inbounds? It's the definition. The pylons are not out of bounds; they are part of the goal line "extended". When the ball, while being carried, hits one, it is breaking the plane of the goal. Like wise, if the ball is carried outside the pylon but the player touches the pylon, it is a touchdown since the ball has crossed the goal line "extended".

Is this hit legal or illegal ? and do you think whether this hit malicious or not ? Thank you so much. We don't know he get penalty.

Here is the video link:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/h4h7zoj6km3tune/M2U00328.MPG?dl=0

Asked by sberber@etu.edu.tr over 10 years ago

If you're talking about the low block by the wide receiver to the lower left of the screen, it looks okay for college.

In the Steelers Broncos game on 12/20/2015, why is the punt not down after a member of the kicking team touches it?

Asked by flynott almost 10 years ago

If a member of the kicking team is the first to touch a grounded punt, it is "illegal touching"; the receivers would have the right to take the ball at that spot if nothing else happens. But it is still a kick because...well, because the kickers gave up the ball when they punted. If K touches it and it keeps rolling, and than a receiver scoops it up and runs it for a TD, it's a score. That "illegal touch" is ignored.

Who won the coin toss Colts or Jets, aug 7 2014

Asked by Smokestack about 11 years ago

Really?

In the NFL If a player intercepts a 2 pt conversion pass in the end zone and attempts to run it back, crosses the goal line and then backs back into the end zone and gets tackled, is it a safety?

Asked by Jimbadger52 almost 10 years ago

To the best of my knowledge, only in college can you run back a missed 2 pt conversion as you describe. In college, that is a safety.

What would proceed if a team don't have more timeouts and the coach call for one.

Asked by LFFE over 10 years ago

The coach is ignored - no timeout is granted. It is not lije hoops where a tech is called.

Why in the Jacksonville-Baltimore game were the Jaguars awarded 20 yards when Dumervil grabbed Bortles face mask? He was taken down at the Jaguars 45 and they placed the ball at the Ravens 35 yard line for the next play.

Asked by Chris Barsano almost 10 years ago

That doesn't sound too right. Usually a foul like that is tacked on from the end of the run with an automatic first down. Based on what you wrote, it should have gone from the Jags 45 to the Ravens 40. Unless there's something in the NFL rules - which are not always the same as college and HS - that marks it from another spot.