Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

On a pass two feet are required to be in bounds for a pass to be ruled complete. Could a player double hop on one foot, with adequate ball control, before going out of bounds and it be considered complete.

Asked by Rich about 10 years ago

You gave the answer: "On a pass two feet are required". And that's two different feet, otherwise it's one foot.

Who won the coin toss Colts or Jets, aug 7 2014

Asked by Smokestack over 10 years ago

Really?

A receiver is lined up in the line of scrimmage, before the snap, he crosses the line of scrimmage jogging about 5 yards,. QB doesn't snap the ball, the referee tells the player to reset, which he does, then QB snaps the ball.
Is this allowable?

Asked by Marc over 9 years ago

If he starts jogging downfield, you could consider it a delay of game foul. But that's sort of a stretch. Unless there's some exigent circumstance that I can't figure out, the receiver is creating a false start. That also assumes that the team is pretty much ready to snap the ball - he's on the wrong side of the ball. If a receiver is too far up, an official - the linesman or line judge - might tell him to "watch the ball" and let him correct himself. But the receiver doesn't seem too sharp.

What would proceed if a team don't have more timeouts and the coach call for one.

Asked by LFFE about 10 years ago

The coach is ignored - no timeout is granted. It is not lije hoops where a tech is called.

During a play a unsportsmanlike flag is thrown on the offensive tackle. the play ends in a touch down. Where is the ball placed?

Asked by Alvin over 10 years ago

If it's during the play, it is a live ball foul. The penalty is enforced from the previous spot. No score.

In the Steelers Broncos game on 12/20/2015, why is the punt not down after a member of the kicking team touches it?

Asked by flynott over 9 years ago

If a member of the kicking team is the first to touch a grounded punt, it is "illegal touching"; the receivers would have the right to take the ball at that spot if nothing else happens. But it is still a kick because...well, because the kickers gave up the ball when they punted. If K touches it and it keeps rolling, and than a receiver scoops it up and runs it for a TD, it's a score. That "illegal touch" is ignored.

On a kick off. Receiving player misses the catch, touches the ball on the one yard line and the ball goes into but not out of the end zone. If the player covers it up and is touched by opposing player, is it a safety?

Asked by Steve over 9 years ago

A kick is a kick is a kick. Until it is possessed, it is still a kick. You have a grounded kick in the endzone, touched by R in the field of play. The receiving team must cover it there or bring it out. If it is possessed in the endzone by the receivers and they "take a knee" there, it is a touchback.