Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

When takin the ball out of bounds, can you step on the out of bound line while throwing it in? High school or college?

Asked by Bill over 8 years ago

Yes, because the line is out of bounds.

Offensive player O1 at top of key is guarded by defensive player D1. Offensive teammate O2 is moving to set a pick on D1. O1 starts dribbling and D1 starts moving directly into O2. D1 and O2 are both moving as they collide. any foul call on O2?

Asked by Larrysm over 8 years ago

Here are the screening rules:1) Stationary B1: A2 is setting a pick and B1 can see the pick within his visual field, then A2 can set the pick anywhere short of contact. If B1 cannot see the pick within his visual field, A1 must set the pick no closer than 1 normal step.2) Moving B1: When screening a moving opponent, the rule book says he must be given time and distance to avoid the pick. The speed of the opponent is a key to allowing this distance and may be one or two steps, all in the judgement of the officials3) Moving B1 and A1, the player moving behind the direction they are moving is responsible for contact.

So my son is in little league.. Ref came up to him and told him he need toto learn the game and quit whining... Hes 11. He wad asking me a question before the ref came up to him. Is the ref allowed to do taunt a child like that and what can i do?

Asked by April about 9 years ago

When I umped little league baseball, there were times when I admonished a player directly - most often a pitcher for disrespectful body language in protest (slamming his mitt after a call four call, shaking his head purposefully when not getting a strike called, etc). Depending on how grievous the infraction determined my intensity.  

One time while umping a 14 year old tournament game a pitcher was trying to get strike calls for balls 2 inches off the plate. After watching his demonstrations a few times, I stopped the game and took three paces toward the mound. I said loud enough for all to hear, "pitcher, you are not as good as Greg Maddox and I will not give in to your pitches off the plate. I suggest you challenge the hitters with strikes, or at least stop your sophomoric demonstrations. Or I can solve this for you and throw you out of the game". The coach came out to talk to me and instead of protesting he thanked me for humbling this young man.

In general, in basketball no good comes from arguing or negatively interacting with the crowd or the players. Mature refs avoid this.

can you catch your own air ball if it is a shot attempt?

Asked by NGUYEN LE over 9 years ago

Yes in NFHS rules a shooter can retrieve his own airball as long as it was deemed a legitimate shot.

Player A dribbles into front court, passes to Player B who has not established position in frontcourt. After the pass, Player B jumps into front court before the ball gets to him to not get called for backcourt violation. What is the right call?

Asked by Coaching Youth over 9 years ago

Backcourt violation is the correct call because a player who catches the ball while in the air is considered to be in the court position from where they last touched the court. For example, if a player is out of bounds and leaps up, as soon as the player touches the ball it should be whistled dead on an out of bounds violation.

In your question if an offense player leaps from the backcourt to touch a ball which has been established in his team's front court it is a backcourt violation. Two exceptions to this rule: 1) on a throw-in, a player can jump from either side of the centerline, catch the throw in and land on the opposite side, and 2) a defensive player who leaps from his backcourt to intercept a ball which came from his front court (which was in possession of the offense before the interception).

I saw something tonight I have only seen twice in my career. A shooter shoots the ball and air balls it but he then catches it. Is that a violation? Or as long as he is shooting and not passing the ball is it a legal play.

Asked by Scott about 9 years ago

In NFHS rules, a shooter can retrieve an airball shot before any other player touches the ball as long as the shot was a legitimate try.

I have a question. Say a player jumps to attempt a 3 pointer. He is fouled and then decided to dribble or pass after the foul instead of finish the shot attempt. Are 3 free throws awarded? Or is it side out of bounds?

Asked by Travis about 9 years ago

If, in the opinion of the referee the player started the "habitual movement to shoot at the basket" and is fouled it is a shooting foul even if the player cannot complete the shot or dumps the ball off.