Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Article 5 of the college bball rules says a pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the court before a pass or shot. But I see no restrictions on the non-pivot foot. Lift the pivot, hop all the way to the basket on the non-pivot??

Asked by JJinVista over 9 years ago

you may step on your non pivot and then lift your pivot but it you step down on what was your pivot foot, or slide or hop on your non-pivot foot it is traveling

can you catch your own air ball if it is a shot attempt?

Asked by NGUYEN LE over 9 years ago

Yes in NFHS rules a shooter can retrieve his own airball as long as it was deemed a legitimate shot.

In high school basketball is the ref a part of the court and who gains possession of the ball?

Asked by Janet over 9 years ago

Yes. The ref is part of the floor where he is standing. If the ref is out of bounds and the ball hits him then the ball is out of bounds. If the ref is inbounds and the ball hits him play on.

Team A shoots their second of 2 free throws. Makes it but ref calls lane violation on team b. Does team A get another free throw or is it team B's ball and play on. I had a ref give us another free throw and I'm pretty sure he's wrong.

Asked by Riley over 9 years ago

The ref should extend his arm sraight from the shoulder indicating a delayed call. If the free throw goes in, ignore the violation. If the free throw does not go in , then reshoot the free throw.

can i box out an opponent before their offensive player takes a shot ?

Asked by Kobe54 over 9 years ago

Boxing out is the process of legally getting to a spot on the floor before an opponent gets to the same spot. Most people think of this when you achieve inside rebounding position, and you are able to anticipate your opponent's movement in such a way that you prevent him from moving around you by "blocking" his way. Note this definition is without specification regarding a shot or no shot.

In my experience, the player blocking out is tagged with a foul when he blatantly backs up and dislodges his opponent when making contact, but not usually when both players move laterally.

A player slaps a ball handlers hand but there is no change of possession, No advantage to the defense so,,,no foul called, and I slap a players hand to frustrate him the rest of the game. My advantage, I'm not a dirty player but

Asked by rimbreaker almost 9 years ago

The first time you slap him, I pass. The second time I call a foul even if there is no change in advantage because 1) you INTEND to get an advantage, and 2) if you are allowed to slap the player you are going to get punched and the game will deteriate. A good referee has each foul in context....you wouldn't last too long if I officiated your game and you started slapping players hands.

High school rules
While an offensive player is scoring a two point shot a defensive player fouls going for rebound position. The offense is in the bonus. Is the fouled player awarded one and one on top of the made goal or only one shot?

Asked by Pete over 9 years ago

OK. So let's say the shooter comes down from his jump shot and touches the floor and the shot is in the air. This offensive player is no longer an "airborne shooter". If the defense then fouls this ex-airborne shooter, or any other offensive player while the ball is in the air here is how you administer it:

Count the basket if it goes in. Then administer the foul (one and one, or two if in bonus situations.NOTE: If the shooter is still an airborne shooter and is fouled, he is awarded one free throw if the ball goes in, two or three if the shot is no good.