Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Probably rare... Team A punts. Team B catches ball on their own 30, but there is a penalty (let's say holding at Team B's 25) which is behind where the catch was made.

Where is the enforcement spot of the penalty and where is the ball then placed

Asked by statman24 about 7 years ago

Not rare at all. You are describing a post scrimmage kick enforcement (PSK). Under PSK, if B - the receivers - commits a foul during the kick and they are the team to next put the ball in play, then PSK rules apply. So, in your situation, B holds behind where the kick ends (at the 30); the foul is administered from the spot of the hold at the 25. B 1/10 at the 15.

On a screen pass, If the ball is caught behind the line of scrimmage, can you start blocking downfield before the ball is caught? Does it matter if pass is forward (not a lateral)?

Asked by Tom over 6 years ago

Blocking downfield seems to indicate you're looking at offensive pass interference. In college, pass interference only occurs when a legal forward pass crosses the line of scrimmage. If a pass is caught behind the line, it obviously hasn't crossed the line of scrimmage. If it's a backward pass (no such thing as a lateral) then it isn't forward and you can't have OPI.

Why hasn't any quarter back worn tented visors so the MLB won't read his eyes?

Asked by Ken S about 7 years ago

At least in college, it is illegal. For safety reasons. A trainer needs to be able to see a player's eyes if they are hurt. If a helmet can't be removed (e.g. possible neck injury) the eyes will help determine consciousness.

College football: punt formation has an uncovered wing wearing an ineligible number, can he be thrown a forward pass (across line of scrimmage)?

Asked by Chris about 7 years ago

Nope. The player is ineligible by number and that is always the case on a pass that crosses the line of scrimmage.

In tonights game between dolphins and texans on the play at end of first half where Osweiler fumbled and Houston picked it up for a td, the ball went backwards so why not a backwards pass which is in play for defense to pick up and run into end zone?

Asked by Greg about 7 years ago

A fumble is a fumble, not a backwards pass. That being said, they're both still alive for a defensive score.

What's the call. A college defender intercepts a ball, while evading, he runs back into the endzone and falls or is tackled.

Asked by Tim almost 7 years ago

Oooh, good question. First, if a defender intercepts a pass from the five yard line in to the goal, he gets momentum, meaning if he ends up in the end zone it was his momentum that put him there so he isn't penalized. It will be his team's ball at the spot of the interception - btw, you'll see an official drop a bean bag at that spot to mark it. However, that isn't what you asked. You wrote "he runs back into the endzone ", meaning he put himself in the endzone. If he falls or is tackled there, it's a safety.

A holds B on a scimmage kick at the line of scrimmage. Is the spot of enforcement where A recieves the scrimmage kick.

Asked by Jeffrey Kroupa about 7 years ago

First, minor correction: B receives the kick. The foul by A is a previous spot, meaning a rekick after penalty enforcement.