Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
It doesn't always happen and it's because their coaches decided they aren't gong to run another play. It can't be the last minute, though, because there may be a play clock involved. Beyond that, you'd have to ask a coach why.
Yup. Or technically, a backward pass which is still alive. This is the end of the JMU - South Dakota State game that someone just called me about. He thought the whistle had blown and if so, the ref may have felt the QB had "given himself up" knowing what the purpose of the running around was. In truth, the QB should have killed the clock running around and then gone to a knee to end the game.
I'm guessing the NFL rule is the same (similar) to the NCAA. In order for a 10-secind runoff to occur, the foul must cause the clock to stop immediately, such as a false start. If it was a hold, then the play went off and the infraction didn't cause the clock to stop; the play ended and the clock was stopped.
If the offense has substituted, the defense has to be given an opportunity to "match up". There are limits in time, but the D has to have the chance. If the defense doesn't sub immediately, the official moves off the ball. When you see an official with his arms out to the side ("iron cross") they are in that time frame allowing the defense to sub.
REALTOR®
Dating Website Employee
Programmer
This play will never never happen, even in a Pop Warner game.
Here is my take: Too many men on the field and yes 15 yds for unsportsmanship and replay after 15 yds back.
Also, if QB threw up ball, would this be intentional grounding? If yes, that is a spot foul, 5 yds from spot and loss of down. LOD on 4th down with no time left means that we do not extend so game would be over and B loses if they accept this foul (which they would not).
The QB would take the snap and run backwards for 4 seconds and then take a knee. Period.
The rules allow the player who "first controls the snap" to immediately throw it to the ground without being called for grounding.
Couple of possibilities. First, if you see the 12, you want to shut it down before the play goes off. That's the proper mechanic and the better situation. But, they simply may have still been counting (late sub, e.g.) and the ball was snapped. It's possible the player was trying to get off the field but didn't make it and the play went off. You could still shut it down but they didn't. Sometimes stuff just happens and itisn't the ideal.
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)