Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

When the punting team keeps the ball from going into the end zone, can a player from the receiving team advance the ball?

Asked by Catch 22 over 9 years ago

No. It is still a kick - by definition - and K cannot advance it.

How can the field goal holder make a forward pass with his knee on the ground?

Asked by Rpwashington over 9 years ago

Because the rules say he can. And he's the only one. A holder can go up off his knee to get a high snap and bring it down for the hold. Likewise, the fact that he's on the ground when he gets the snap would normally make the ball dead. The holder has special rules (college).

does NCAA rule 9.3.2.c interlocking or encircling blocking interference apply to plays from scrimmage? Was it put in in response to the old 'flying wedge' plays?

Asked by Thad over 10 years ago

More and more people are more and more concerned about injuries in fooball.  The recent rule changes - at all levels - reflects that.  The kickoff is the ultimate collision.  Line up 11 guys on each side and give them a running start at each other.  Yes, the flying wedge was incredibly dangerous and recent changes on kickoffs - even preventing players from holding hands in a line - are intended to prevent injury.

Can you snap the ball sideways as long as it goes backwards like a lateral. Not between the legs but standing sideways as long as you keep the ball perpendicular to LOS?

Asked by Bravovictor about 11 years ago

Yup.  Using college rule 2-23-1-g: The snap need not be between the snapper's legs; but to be legal, it must be a quick and continuous backward motion. 

And don't use "lateral". The term "lateral" is not used; it's a backward pass.

In High School if you have a fake field goal or extra point if the snap is to the holder and his knee is touching the ground can he get up and run or throw the ball or us he down where the snap was caught?

Asked by Brian over 9 years ago

The holder may come up and become a passer. He can also rise up to get a high snap and return to the ground to be the holder - that would not be a downing of the runner.

Refs throw flags for a "hit on a defenseless receiver" after the catch is made, the receiver turns his head and takes several steps. Why no flag for Emmanuel Sanders when he lays out for an incompletion and gets creamed without seeing it coming?

Asked by Adam about 9 years ago

I can't answer that - I did not see it. Sorry

In last weeks FL LSU game, the kick holder throws a pass from a 'kneeling' position. Legal or not? His knee was down.

Asked by Henry over 9 years ago

As I answered in another question about this play....Legal. If he went up to catch a high snap, he can still return to hold the snap. He could also throw as you describe. If he stands (for no other reason than he wants to) and then returns to the ground, he is down. Dead ball.