Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
I'm guessing you're talking about the wideout on the left side of the formation, though you don't say. I'm also not sure if this is a high school or college game. There was nothing that I could see on the runner. The wideout on the left cuts low on the defender. It is, in my opinion, a hit on what could be considered a defenseless player - the play is over when the block is made so that would cause the penalty.
The holder may come up and become a passer. He can also rise up to get a high snap and return to the ground to be the holder - that would not be a downing of the runner.
I can't answer that - I did not see it. Sorry
I don't think anyone is looser. The rules are the rules, and at both levels officials are graded. There are officiating philosophies that most fans aren't aware of, and that might lend itself to people thinking someone is letting a player "get away" with something. Officials are following the directives of their supervisors. I suppose if a supervisor had the attitude of "let'em play", there might be a more loose game. But I don't know of any like that.
Programmer
Why are so many developers such bad communicators?
McDonald's Manager
Did you have to deal with a lot of disrespectful customers? What would they say?
Server / Bartender
What's the best tip you ever got?
NFL rules are different but generally, if the foul is behind the "basic spot" (the end of the run) it's marked off from the spot of the foul.
Generally speaking, in HS and college yes. In the NFL, the player needs to be "down by contact", so if a player is running free and slips or trips in the NFL, he can still get up and continue. In HS and college, the player is down.
As I answered in another question about this play....Legal. If he went up to catch a high snap, he can still return to hold the snap. He could also throw as you describe. If he stands (for no other reason than he wants to) and then returns to the ground, he is down. Dead ball.
-OR-
Login with Facebook (max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
Register with Facebook(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)