Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

If contact is made between a receiver and a defender past 5 yards downfield, and the contact is initiated by the offensive player is that an infraction? If not, does that give the offensive player motive to just run into the defender & draw a flag?

Asked by Reese over 10 years ago

You're talking NFL illegal contact beyond 5 yards.  Offensive pass interference (OPI) rules begin with the snap. If a receiver makes contact - not just brushing past a defender or trying to get away - it is OPI.  Defensive pass iterference begins once the ball is thriown.

Is the wrong ball play unsportsmanlike.

QB comes to line says that the ball is the wrong ball and center hands it to the QB and he starts to walk over to coach but then takes off down the field

Asked by Bchball over 10 years ago

I have to tell you, the play situations that come up here are so strange.  I just don't see this stuff.  Anyway, if it's first down - the team is going under center fior the first time - you change it.  If the QB says somnething and the officials respond.  But if the center picks up the ball to show the ref, you have a foul on the offense.

College rules: Legally snapping the ball (a snap) is handing or passing it
backward from its position on the ground with a quick and continuous motion
of the hand or hands, the ball actually leaving the hand or hands in this motion
(Rule 4-1-4).
b. The snap starts when the ball is moved legally and ends when the ball leaves
the snapper’s hands (A.R. 7-1-5-I-II).

In addition:

Rule 7, ARTICLE 3. Each of the following is a dead-ball foul. Officials should
blow the whistle and not allow the play to continue. After the ball is ready for
play and before it is snapped:
a. Snapper. The snapper:

2. May not lift the ball, move it beyond the neutral zone or simulate the
start of a play

From my perspective, the play you describe should not happen.  If it does, it's a foul. And if all else fails, use Rule 9-2-3-d: An obviously unfair act not specifically covered by the rules occurs during the game since the action is intended to deceive and abuse the rules of the game.

Can you have a padded structure that shelters your players like an above ground dugout in Men's football not soccer as long as it is far enough away from playing surface.

Asked by Bravovictor about 11 years ago

First thought: why? You have heated benches and, believe me. it's hard enough leaving them to go on the field if it's cold.  There is nothing in the NCAA rule book prohibiting it. But I'm imagining Bud Grant, the old-time coach of the Vikings, spinning in his grave.  When the Vikings played outdoors, he didn't allow heated benches. Dugouts or soccer type enclosures? It just ain't football.

A defensive back makes a diving Interception in the Opponents endzone and then gets to his feet and spikes the ball is this a fumble or a Touchback. The one Official was signaling touchback and blew his whistle. But the White Hat over ruled and gave t

Asked by Tim over 10 years ago

In college or hs, the ball is dead when player hits ground so that is a touchback. In NFL, a player can get up and run. It would appear that we have a fumble.

In trying to run time off the clock at the end of a close game, can offensive player with ball stop short of the goal line and stand there waiting for the defense to try to get to him before he steps over the goal line? Or is that “Taunting”?

Asked by sb about 11 years ago

There doesn't seem to be anything wrong with this. Not much different than the times when a punter takes a snap and runs around in the endzone (I think this was in last yeat's Super Bowl) to kill time before running out of bounds. Defensive teams have allowed offenses to score in order to get the ball back quickly.  It isn't a "mockery" of te game, it's a strategy.  As long as the ball carrier isn't taunting (e.g. waving it in the face of the opponent) it seems to be a legal and a smart move.

If any team kick off the ball from center and after the first touch when the ball is being passed to another player, if the opponent player receive the ball before reaching to that player and play with is it okay?

Asked by Mohammad Asraful Islam over 9 years ago

I'm sorry, but I do not understand what you're asking.

its a penalty if a defensive player leads with the helmet to the helmet of an offensive player. However, I've seen repeatedly the offensive player lead with his helmet to the helmet of the defensive player. But there is no penalty. Why not?

Asked by ssrmaineniac over 10 years ago

It's a penalty for anyone to lead with their helmet.  Why it's not called is a tough and good question.  Almost every runner in an attempt to get more yardage "lowers shoulders" which, of course, lowers his head.  It also is usually when they are about to get hit and they are slowing a bit.  My sense is that most officials tend to see it as lowering the shoulders and not using the head as a weapon.  It probably is more common to see defensive players attack the runner, creating a more forceful impact.  But you're right - it should go both ways.