Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

How can the field goal holder make a forward pass with his knee on the ground?

Asked by Rpwashington about 10 years ago

Because the rules say he can. And he's the only one. A holder can go up off his knee to get a high snap and bring it down for the hold. Likewise, the fact that he's on the ground when he gets the snap would normally make the ball dead. The holder has special rules (college).

my team has the ball on the 4 yard going in to score We need 3.5 yards for a first down and 4 yards for a td. It is 4 th down and the defense gets an encroachment call what should happen. What down should it be

Asked by jared about 10 years ago

Ball can't be moved more than half the distance so.....

4th and 1 1/2 from the 2

The QB throws the ball to a receiver but backwards, then the receiver throws the ball back to the QB, then the QB is pressured and throws the ball away. Can there be Intentional Grounding??

Asked by Caleb almost 10 years ago

A couple of things. First, if the throw back to the QB is forward, then the QB can't throw it forward regardless of the situation. That would be a second forward pass and that is illegal. Second, the only person who has the right to throw the ball away legally is the person who controls the snap, the initial snap or backward pass. The QB no longer has the right to throw it away. So, yes.

When the punting team keeps the ball from going into the end zone, can a player from the receiving team advance the ball?

Asked by Catch 22 almost 10 years ago

No. It is still a kick - by definition - and K cannot advance it.

How much do college refs get paid per game for each division?

Asked by T-Rex about 11 years ago

This varies by conference.  As an example, the Big Ten pays around $2600 per game.  The official, as I understand it, is responsible for all his expenses out of that, including travel, hotel (they have to be there the night before), and meals.  At the Division 2 level, one eastern conference that shall remain nameless, pays $235, again a flat fee regardless of travel.  One Division 3 eastern conference I know of pays $190, while another in the same general geographic area pays $175.

In High School if you have a fake field goal or extra point if the snap is to the holder and his knee is touching the ground can he get up and run or throw the ball or us he down where the snap was caught?

Asked by Brian almost 10 years ago

The holder may come up and become a passer. He can also rise up to get a high snap and return to the ground to be the holder - that would not be a downing of the runner.

Scenerio: 4th down punt; receiver calls for fair catch; ball hits the ground, then the receiver; ball rolls into the endzone and is recovered by the kicking team... what is the call?

Asked by jason about 11 years ago

Unless I'm really screwing this up - always a possibility - it's a touchback.  The status of the ball is that it is still a kick, even though it touched a receiver.  In high school and college, a grounded kick in he endzone is a touchback.  If it was receovered by the kickers in the field of play (between the goal lines), then it would be K's ball.