Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

In a youth football game, a ball carrier who has crossed the line of scrimmage tosses the ball in the air to avoid a tackle, and then catches the ball once past the defender. Can he do this?

Asked by Todd Glasenapp over 10 years ago

Most youth leagues use the rules that the state's high schools use.  For most starws, that is the National Federation.  If the ball carrier crosses the line, he cannot legallythrow the ball forward.  The ball carrier can throw a backwards pass. If that occurs, there is nothing that I can find that would prevent the runner from catching his own backward pass. But, as you describe it, and I'm readingf into it, it sounds as if the ball is thrown ahead of the runner to get past the defender.  That is an illegal pass.

The QB throws the ball to a receiver but backwards, then the receiver throws the ball back to the QB, then the QB is pressured and throws the ball away. Can there be Intentional Grounding??

Asked by Caleb over 9 years ago

A couple of things. First, if the throw back to the QB is forward, then the QB can't throw it forward regardless of the situation. That would be a second forward pass and that is illegal. Second, the only person who has the right to throw the ball away legally is the person who controls the snap, the initial snap or backward pass. The QB no longer has the right to throw it away. So, yes.

Do they officiate differently in college than they do in nfl

Asked by Ryan about 10 years ago

That's too broad a question - can you narrow it or clarify it?

On national TV TDay 2015 Panthers routing of Dallas Cam Newton removes his helmet twice on field with 2:30 left with no call (a few weeks after Bryant was schooled on this). Will refs get a earful from the NFL, or "no big deal - Cam's special"?

Asked by Cris Mooney over 9 years ago

The NFL can't determine what a catch is; how can they get this right? I really don't know what they do in that case. I like Newton as a player, but he does get a bit over the top on a lot of the antics.

Scenerio: 4th down punt; receiver calls for fair catch; ball hits the ground, then the receiver; ball rolls into the endzone and is recovered by the kicking team... what is the call?

Asked by jason over 10 years ago

Unless I'm really screwing this up - always a possibility - it's a touchback.  The status of the ball is that it is still a kick, even though it touched a receiver.  In high school and college, a grounded kick in he endzone is a touchback.  If it was receovered by the kickers in the field of play (between the goal lines), then it would be K's ball.

if you line up to kick an extra point but the snap is errant can you run or pass for 2 pts.?or will it still be 1 pt.?

Asked by new extra point rules about 9 years ago

You look at the result of the play, not the intent. It's the same as a fake; the result, if successful, is two points for the run/pass play.

Very often, on screen passes to wide receivers (bubble screens) other WRs block opposing defensive backs while the ball is in the air. I thought that was offensive pass interference. Why is it so seldom called?

Asked by RJ about 10 years ago

If a pass is caught behind the line of scrimmage, there can't be OPI. So a WR blocking ahead of that screen is legal.