Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
From what you stated, "had the ball knocked or of his hands", that is a fumble. We are taking the position that he had possession, so there is no muff. A fumble by the offensive team that is recovered by the offense in the end zone, and the recovering player (Lacy) remains on the ground in the end zone, results in a safety. Even it was a muff, if the offense put the ball into the end zone and it remains there in their possession, it is a safety.
Good point to raise. Officials try to maintain a steady pace, regardless of how fast the offense is going (no huddle, hurry up). However, as time is getting ready to expire in a half, officials will use one ball, the same one that was in the previous play, rather than substitute a new ball. There still has to be an opportunity for the defense to "match up", which means if the offense is subbing (even in a hurry up), the defense has to be given the opportunity to match subs (at least in college rules).
In the NFL, there cannot be choreographed celebrations. Having your non-players (off the sideline) on the field likely falls into that category. In college it is specific: Rule 9-2-1 says no one - including the mascot - is allowed on the field during any period without the permission of the referee.
That's an illegal kick by the defensive lineman. College rules call for a ten yard penalty against the offending team - in this case the defense. So, no TD and, after accepting the penalty, it's still the offense's ball.
Obstetrician Gynecologist
Literary Scout
NHL Team Marketer
If it is ruled a forward pass (unlike the Patriots' play in the playoffs), it's an incomplete pass. On the other hand, if it is ruled a fumble -- as it was against the Pats -- then you have a safety. If anyone legally throws a forward pass - a punter, kick holder, a halfback - and it's incomplete, then it's, well, incomplete. The fact that it rolled out of the endzone is irrelevent.
You can't enforce two live ball fouls against the same team as you describe it. In this case, you decline the off side foul and accept the more serious/significant DPI.
In high school and college, a pass would have to be backwards to be legal. Behind the LOS isn't a factor there. A forward pass to an originally ineligible player (by position or number) is illegal.
In the NFL, the rules are more restrictive. To be eligible to receive a forward pass, an ineligible (lineman's number - between 50 and 79) player must report in to the referee and be announced. In that case, the player can receive a forward pass.
Any backward pass can be caught legally by anyone - that's why those end of game multiple "laterals" are legal.
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)