Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
The three deep officials (defenseive secondary area) are the side judge, back judge (in the middle) and the field judge. Most of the time we like to play with only 11 players on each side -- so we count. And the three deep guys are counting the defense. That thumbs up you see says they each have eleven. If somebody doesn't have eleven, there's no thumbs up. The back judge will hold two hands out signaling each sideline.
Th defenseless player call is a live ball foul, that is, during the play. The unsportsmanlike would probably have been a dead ball foul. after the play is over. You can enforce a live ball and a dead ball foul.
I am not a member of the fashion police and, thankfully, it is not a part of the rules.
Regardless of level, offensive pass interference (OPI) rules begin at the snap. So what you describe, technically, is OPI and illegal. I went to bed early so I didn't see all of the game. Is there contact downfield on many, if not all, plays? Yes. Is it always called? No. Depending on the situation, contact initiated by the receiver might be ignored if the QB was looking the other way the whole time and the play (pass) was thrown away from the contact. Same goes for defensive pass interference. But technically, contact initiated by the offensive player is interference.
TV Meteorologist
What were your worst on-screen bloopers?
Sr. Software Engineer
Is it basically impossible for a skilled programmer to be out of work these days?
Personal Injury Lawyer
How do I get out of jury duty?
The guy answering is still alive. Does that help?
That is not a college or high school rule ad I'm not certain of the NFL rule. And I really can't respond to the philosophy that the NFL Competition Committee uses in creating rules.
From what you stated, "had the ball knocked or of his hands", that is a fumble. We are taking the position that he had possession, so there is no muff. A fumble by the offensive team that is recovered by the offense in the end zone, and the recovering player (Lacy) remains on the ground in the end zone, results in a safety. Even it was a muff, if the offense put the ball into the end zone and it remains there in their possession, it is a safety.
-OR-
Login with Facebook (max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
Register with Facebook(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)