Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
I'm assuming the ball is in player possession when it crosses the goal. If a runner puts the ball in his possession over the line, it is a touchdown; play is over and the "recovery" is irrelevant. You use the concept of a "pane of glass"; if you break the glass, it's a TD. If a receiver catches the ball in the air over the endzone, he must come down to the ground with possession. So if a reception is made in the air, and the ball is knocked out of the receiver's hands before he establishes contact with the ground, it's incomplete.
Any rule - in the appropriate spot - can and should be called. The situations that have been described, while possibly helping the runner, just aren't so clear cut as to be fouls (e.g. pushing the pile). Now, that being said, there may be situations (which I cannot nor do I choose to think of at this time) when a player might be "helped" and that should be called. To your point about coaching it, I'm not sure what you're going to tell your players to do. And if you coach them to do something and it gets called, that's on you. I'm not sure what is going on that it is being called and is generating such angst. But it really isn't worth continuing; you're right - the horse is dead; it's time to dismount.
Based on what you're writing now, the Ref will give these options to the defense:
2nd and goal from the 25 (declining the penalty, take the result of the play - the sack) OR
1st and goal at the 19 (accept the 10 yard holding penalty from the previous spot - College rule)
I'm not sure I can explain it any other way.
This was mentioned a few questions ago. If you intercept a pass inside the 5 (at least in college, probably NFL, too) and then go into the endzone where you're tackled, it comes back out to the spot of the interception. That is momentum. If it is intercepted at the ten, as you describe, and you take it into the endzone, it is your fault the ball is there, and that will be a safety.
Stand-Up Comedian
Tattoo Artist
Help Desk Technician
There's a saying among officials: Don't make it the call of the game. Your calls should be solid, clear, obvious. If it's there, call it. Pushing the runner in a pile of bodies? Not obvious, not clear. Why is it never called? It just isn't a solid call. And I don't want to make the next week's training film as the guy who called helping the runner.
Yes...more or less. If there is illegal touching by A, it's going to be B's ball at the end of the play. Unless B fouls. But basically your point is correct. If B should fumble, the ball would be returned to the point of the illegal touch.
I'm not sure why you reference the 3rd and 4th down interval. In college, and as far as I know in the NFL, when the play ends (in this case the pass is incomplete) the 40 second clock starts. If it expires, it's a delay on the offense.
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)