Rndballref
20 Years Experience
Chicago, IL
Male, 60
For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage
If you establish your left foot as a pivot, the move to your right foot and lift your left to this point you are ok. But as soon as your left touches the floor it is travelling. Dragging your pivot foot is like touching the floor again, and so it is travelling.
It depends on the severity and the official's philosophy. If the ref is using Advantage Disadvantage and the foul is not severe, and immaterial to the play, he would pass and no call. If the official does not subscribe to advantage disadvantage, then he would call a foul regardless of severity and impact.
The throw is the start of a dribble. If you pick it up the dribble ends and you are subject to travelling violations if you lift your pivot foot illegally. You can also continue dribbling if you can continue with one hand.
In my opinion this is not traveling (under NFHS rules). 1) he picks up the ball while in the air. his right foot comes down first, he steps on his left, giving up his pivot and then releases the ball. No traveling. 2) In NFHS you can capture the ball without it hitting anything (rim, backboard floor, opponent, referee) if and only if the airball was a legitimate attempt at a shot. I think it was in this case, so I would rule no traveling. College and Pro rules would call this same play traveling, but not high school rules.
Bouncer
What's the best way to "get in good" with the bouncer at the door?
Flight Attendant
How do you handle belligerent passengers?
Air Traffic Controller
Have you ever ordered a pilot to abort mid-takeoff?
During a dribble you cannot travel. Once you pick up your dribble, one or both feet become your pivot foot. You can step with your non pivot foot and then lift your pivot but it is travelling if you put your pivot foot down again or if you move your non pivot foot. So, if you end your dribble or just catch the ball, then shuffle your feet it is travelling. Shuffling your feet is a bad habit that can only result in travelling.
Yes because by your scenario A's dribble never ended.
Sorry, this link did not work.
-OR-
Login with Facebook (max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
Register with Facebook(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)