Rndballref
20 Years Experience
Chicago, IL
Male, 60
For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage
Yes, as long as you do not end your drivble, palm the ball or step into some else's space.
I am not sure about NCAA rules, but I suspect no ref can overrule another as in NFHS rules.
The violation is that a player is "closely guarded" for 5 seconds. Note it includes a stationary player holding the ball, dribbling in place, and dribbling on the move. Being closely guarded by a defender for a continuous 5 seconds is a violation.
There is nothing worse than having an officiating partner with a chip on their shoulder, trying to be a tough guy, at any point in the game. Coaches need to respect an official, and usually that has to be earned over time. I think officials need thick skin always. Here's my red line: if a coach makes it personal in a derogatory way or if he questions my integrity then I would zap him right away, but I didn't call many technicals - I guess you would say I have thick skin. Guys who agitate coaches and call lots of Ts don't deserve to advance.
Las Vegas Cab Driver
Obstetrician Gynecologist
EMT
If i understand the question, what happens when a defender legally pushes on the ball in opposte direction of the offensive player? Answer = held ball, go the possession arrow.
Yes it is. The ref is considered part of the floor.
Normally, when you jump, you are considered to be in the court from which you jumped. BUT, there are three exceptions to this principle as far as back court violations are concerned: 1) on a jump ball, 2) on a throw in, and 3) when a defender jumps from his front court and intercepts the ball in the air and lands in his back court.
So to answer your question directly, no violation in either case if the ball is caught on the throw in.
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)