Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

can i box out an opponent before their offensive player takes a shot ?

Asked by Kobe54 over 9 years ago

Yes, because boxing out is getting to a spot on the floor before your opponent is entitled to that space, and doing it in a way that "blocks" the direct path of your opponent.

If a player is suspended for 1 game and his team receives a win as a result of a forfeit, should he be allowed to play the following game without actually sitting out a game?

Asked by JT over 8 years ago

I think this depends on the state interpretation of its own rules. My opinion is that the player should not sit out the game after a forfeit because it is not the player's fault that a team did not show for the game of his punishment. But i see it the other too.

Why do some refs say the wrong team color sometimes? In a recent rec league game, for example, the ref called a team in orange jerseys "red." The first time I saw this I figured it was colorblindness. Then it happened several other times.

Asked by Brian about 8 years ago

It is just easier to say red than orange, or even blue than turquoise.

If the ball inadvertently hits a body part (hip) on the dribble but does not come to rest, ie, the ball handler lets the ball bounce off the floor and resumes dribbling, is this a violation?

Asked by mojolin almost 9 years ago

no violation

Player A is substituted before the 2nd free throw. Player B enters the game. Opponent is called for a violation during the 2nd free throw. Can Player A re-enter the game?

Asked by David Johns about 8 years ago

A cannot reenter until the clock starts during a live ball.

How do you decide that making or not making a call will affect the score at the end of a game

Asked by rimbreaker over 8 years ago

You don't decide based on how you think it will affect the score, if you follow the Advantage Disadvantage philosophy you decide to ignore a violation or foul if the infraction did or did not cause an unearned advantage to the violator.

Can a player who controls the ball re-control the after attempting a shot without it first hitting the rim, back board or another player?

Asked by Eddie Basketball about 9 years ago

Yes, as long as the shot was deemed a legitimate try by the officials.