Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

If one or two NCAA basketball referees decides that the third referees call is incorrect or 'vindictive', can they overrule the third referee whether the third referee agrees to change the call or not?

Asked by Kamerch over 8 years ago

I am not sure about NCAA rules, but I suspect no ref can overrule another as in NFHS rules.

Team B full court press. Team A inbounder cant find a teammate, count approaches 5, fires the ball directly at Team B kid denying inbound pass. Team B kid is hurt. Game stopped and Team B player taken out of game. Some type of foul on Team A?

Asked by midd44 over 9 years ago

It is a legitimate basketball play to bounce the ball off of a defender hoping the ball then goes directly out of bounds. There is no prohibition against that. HOWEVER, if a player purposely throws the ball at an opponent to hurt or intimidate him, that is an unsportsmanlike technical foul. So, it is up to the judgement of the officials.

Are players allowed to disagree with calls if they are not directing their comments to the ref but to players on their own team?

Asked by Riley over 9 years ago

Yes as long as they do it without trying to show up the ref. For example, the player turns to his bench and says loudly, "that fat a$$ is the worst ref we've ever had". That would be a t.

A ball is thrown from one endline down court. It hits the far rim player grabs ball and scores. What is the call

Asked by maz over 9 years ago

The front of the backboard and ring are in bounds, so the basket is good.

While in the front court off player almost gets the ball stolen and to avoid that he dribbles the ball backwards one time and it touches the centerline. Is that over and back or do we play on?

Asked by Jj almost 10 years ago

If the ball was established in the front court and an offensive player with ball control dribbles on the centerline or steps on any part of the centerline (while in control of the ball) it is a back court violation. The centerline is part of the back court.

If the ball inadvertently hits a body part (hip) on the dribble but does not come to rest, ie, the ball handler lets the ball bounce off the floor and resumes dribbling, is this a violation?

Asked by mojolin over 9 years ago

no violation

Sometimes a ball will rest/balance itself perfectly on the bracket & stay.So what happens on a last sec. shot to tie/win the game. Seems like they'd just have to stay all night to see if it falls thru. What would you do in this situation.

Asked by Tony r over 8 years ago

Give it a couple seconds to move. If not, the shot is over and so is the game.