Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

I am dribbling right handed as I am driving to about the free throw line and I raise my right leg up and pause for a split second and crossover right hand to left hand and go for layup on leftside. Is it ok to raise my right leg up while dribbling?

Asked by Doug over 8 years ago

You cannot travel in yhe middle of legally dribbling. So yes you can!

Regarding sliding or hopping on the non-pivot foot, I understand that a traveling call appears obvious, but can you tell me which of the 7 articles in the college rules under 'Section 6 Traveling', applies? I couldn't find any!

Asked by JJinVista over 9 years ago

I focus on NFHS rules. In the high school rule book it states in Rule 4 Section 44 Article 3, "After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot,

a) The pivot foot may be lifted but not returned to the floor before the ball is released.b) If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released.c) the pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released to start a dribble.

section b rules out hopping or sliding giving up both the pivot and the non pivot.

One of our junior high players was called for travelling while shooting a free throw. Is there such a thing?

Asked by Bleacher Coach over 9 years ago

No. There is no such violation. Likewise, there is no travelling on a throw in.

Can an offensive player who is continuously dribbling be called for five seconds?

Asked by Frank about 9 years ago

The violation is that a player is "closely guarded" for 5 seconds. Note it includes a stationary player holding the ball, dribbling in place, and dribbling on the move. Being closely guarded by a defender for a continuous 5 seconds is a violation.

What happens if it is found that the name of a player is listed incorrectly after the book has been signed by an official the referee (either during or after the game?

Asked by Brooks over 8 years ago

If during the game, it is technical foul if the team conveyed inaccurate information before the game to the official scorer.

After the game, when the refs leave the visual confines of the court there is nothing that can be done (unless the state allows) post game protests.

Offensive player drives and shoots a layup. Defensive player goes for the block, whiffs, but slaps the backboard in the process. The ball comes off the front rim due to the backboard shaking, but the defensive player didn't touch the ball. Goaltend?

Asked by Philip over 9 years ago

The call is defensive basket interference. Award the points but no foul unless the defender intentionally slapped the backboard.

What constitutes a foul being on the ground or not?

Asked by Riley over 9 years ago

There is no distinction in the rule book about being on the ground except 1) a player who alights and shoots the ball is called an airborne shooter until he comes back to the ground, and if fouled even after releasing the ball the airborne shooter is in the act of shooting and 2) a player is considered to be in the act of shooting if he begins the habitual motion of shooting a try regardless of being on the floor or in the air.