Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

the other team has 5 team fouls and fouls one of are players after the call a double tech is called 1 on each team do we still keep the ball or does it go to alternate possesion

Asked by murph over 8 years ago

It goes to the possession arrow.

Can a ref officially end a game before time has expired - say in the event of an uncontrolled crowd or team?

Asked by DB over 9 years ago

Yes. If a referee deems conditions unsafe for players, spectators or officials he should notify home management that the refs can no longer work under current conditions. Without refs the game should not be played.

in the nba if you shoot a long,high arching shot as time runs out and the ball falls way short of the basket(no time on clock) but the ball bounces into the basket-does this count or is it a dead ball when it hits the floor?

Asked by feelingyou about 9 years ago

When a shot is released before time runs out, it becomes dead when it becomes apparent that it will not go directly into the basket. Of course, when it hits the floor it is a dead ball, and therefore does not count if it then bounces into the hoop.

If a intentional foul is called on team A and then a technical foul is called on team B. Who shoots free throws and who gets the ball?

Asked by catcher62 over 9 years ago

The free throws offset. Go to the possession arrow for a half court throw in.

Player from Team A outleaps player from Team B at the tipoff. While he is the 1st to the ball, player from Team A tips it to Team B who controls possession. Who gets the ball next jump ball? (NCAA rules)

Asked by Philip over 9 years ago

Ok. First there is no possession on the tip. So player A1 (jumper) tips the ball - no possession. Then, the ball comes to A2 who tips the ball to B1.  

If A2 tipped the ball in a controlled manner, then A2 had possession and the arrow is set to team B.  If A2 did not control the ball when A2 tipped it, then team B got the first possession and the arrow is set to team A.

If a player is suspended for 1 game and his team receives a win as a result of a forfeit, should he be allowed to play the following game without actually sitting out a game?

Asked by JT almost 9 years ago

I think this depends on the state interpretation of its own rules. My opinion is that the player should not sit out the game after a forfeit because it is not the player's fault that a team did not show for the game of his punishment. But i see it the other too.

Why isn't it an offensive foul when a shooting player jumps into the defender? The shooter creates the contact but is always rewarded.

Asked by Crcsda over 8 years ago

If an offensive player jumps and causes contact within the defender's space it should be called a player control foul, unless the contact did not change the play in a material way (Advantage Disadvantage Theory of Officiating).