Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Article 5 of the college bball rules says a pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the court before a pass or shot. But I see no restrictions on the non-pivot foot. Lift the pivot, hop all the way to the basket on the non-pivot??

Asked by JJinVista about 9 years ago

you may step on your non pivot and then lift your pivot but it you step down on what was your pivot foot, or slide or hop on your non-pivot foot it is traveling

A player drives hard to the basket. He puts his shoulder in the defender chest, jumps up and score. The collision and the shot is almost at the same time. The referee calls for an offensive foul, the ball is in the air. Does the basket still counts?

Asked by Max about 9 years ago

No. In NFHS rules, a basket cannot count if an offensive foul is called on the shooter.

Player A is taking the ball out of bounds and passes it in to player B. Player B quickly passes it back to the inbounder (player A). Does player A have to have both feet inbounds or does she have to place one inbounds to be established as in?

Asked by lauren over 8 years ago

one foot down inbounds is ok as long as the other foot is in the air and not out of bounds.

Since im not sure how to reply to your answer on 4 shoots for a technical let me rephrase, there is only one technical and there are 9 team fouls makeing the technical the 10th does this situation recieve 4 free throws

Asked by Brandon Jackson about 9 years ago

No, you do not award 4 free throws in this scenario. While tehnicals count against team foul bonus totals you do not get a technical and a common foul for the same action.To illustrate, let's assume there are 8 team fouls on team b and a technical foul is called. Team a gets 2 free throws and the ball, and the bonus count goes to 9. Then on the next play team b commits a common foul. Team a shoots 2 free throws because the count goes to 10.

If a player gets called for an over the back foul (1 and 1) and the player then proceeds to get a tech...How do you deal with the 1 and 1 and 2 shots and ball?

Asked by Brad about 9 years ago

Just a quick point of order, there is no such foul in the rule book called "over the back". For example a player could jump up. reach over an opponent from behind and as long as there is no contact, there is no foul.

At any rate, referees are taught to administer fouls in the order they occurred. So in your scenario, clear the lane and shoot the 1 and 1. Then shoot the 2 technicals, and award the ball at half court.  

If these fouls occurred in the opposite order you would only shoot the technicals, because common, unintentional fouls are ignored if they occur during a dead ball.

I've seen players pass to a teammate who establishes himself out of bounds on the baseline. Can this occur ONLY after made baskets, ONLY under your own basket, or is this even allowed when inbounding under your opponents basket?

Asked by Philip about 9 years ago

This play is only valid after a made basket or after a time out after a made basket. 

It is not allowed on a spot throw in because the spot is defined by a 3 foot wide area. On a spot throw in, as soon as the original player hands or throws it to an out of bounds player it is a violation.

if the buzzer sounds at the end of the game and the ref blows her whistle at the same time, can she extend the time on the clock to give a team two foul shots?

Asked by Antonietta about 9 years ago

Even though the buzzer sounds if the shot left the shooters hand before time expired, the ball is live and the shot counts. If the shooter was fouled in the act of shooting at the end of the game, if making any of the free throws could matter to the outcome of the game the lane is cleared and the free throws are attempted.