Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

You are dribbling and then grab the ball with two hands and then drop it and then pick it up. Is that legal?

Asked by action jackson almost 9 years ago

Yes. If it is a legit fumble.

how is an airborne shooter different from an airborne player

Asked by jalisa almost 9 years ago

Airborne shooter is a special definition because when a player jumps and releases the shot, he is considered to be in the act of shooting if he is fouled before landing on the floor.

Airbone player has no significance or definition.

A player drives hard to the basket. He puts his shoulder in the defender chest, jumps up and score. The collision and the shot is almost at the same time. The referee calls for an offensive foul, the ball is in the air. Does the basket still counts?

Asked by Max over 9 years ago

No. In NFHS rules, a basket cannot count if an offensive foul is called on the shooter.

In tonight's Vandy/Wichita NCAA tourney game, a technical foul was called on the Vandy coach for protesting a non-foul call on a shot one of his players just made. Wichita State was awarded 2 ft's, but the ball was then given to Vandy. Why?

Asked by Brian Zdanowski over 9 years ago

NCAA has a list of technicals and penalties. In NFHS rules all technicals are 2 free throws plus ball, at the mid court line. NCAA is point of interruption. It is confusing.

Player A gets two technicals for delay of game. Is he ejected?

Asked by Kevin over 9 years ago

delay of game are team technicals, not attributed to a player. They do count toward the bonus

at the start of a game the referee had the players going the wrong way, Team a got the ball and scored in what should have been team b basket. what is the correct call for this

Asked by Dave over 9 years ago

Team A gets to keep the scored baskets. Turn the players around to the correct direction and resume play.

if the buzzer sounds at the end of the game and the ref blows her whistle at the same time, can she extend the time on the clock to give a team two foul shots?

Asked by Antonietta over 9 years ago

Even though the buzzer sounds if the shot left the shooters hand before time expired, the ball is live and the shot counts. If the shooter was fouled in the act of shooting at the end of the game, if making any of the free throws could matter to the outcome of the game the lane is cleared and the free throws are attempted.