Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

If a player is injured and can't complete free throw does opposing coach choose the sub

Asked by ah over 10 years ago

No.  The coach of the injured player decides who to put in.

warriors player A throws the ball in bounds from under the basket, lions player A defending the pass deflects it, it hits the warrior player who passed it, who has not moved from his out of bounds spot, who's ball?

Asked by coach crookes about 11 years ago

Lions ball on a throw in.

On a full court inbounds pass that goes the length of the court but is never touched, but a foul is called when the ball sails over the players head. Where is the ball thrown in from after the foul?

Asked by Cliff about 10 years ago

The ball should be spotted at a point near the foul. It only comes back to the original thrown if it is not touched or there are no fouls called before the ball is out of bounds.

Another Backcourt question:- Once front court status is achieved. Team A passes to teammate, but hits the hand of team B (Defense) and then hits the hand of team A's teammate and goes backcourt. (neither team a or team b's player is in "control")

Asked by MJ almost 11 years ago

Team control ends when there is a try or tip, an opponent secures control, or the ball becomes dead.  Hitting the hand of player B does not constitute control so I would say if the ball is picked up by team a in the backcourt it is a violation.

I just found out of this rule when I was watching the CLE vs BKN game. What exactly is a showboating foul ?

Asked by MadFaker7 over 10 years ago

I searched through the NBA rulebook and could not find a foul called "showboating". There is a broad definition of unsportsmanlike conduct, but nothing specifically called show boating.

Logos, markings, lettering, etc., are prohibited on the backboard, but are permitted on the backboard padding and basket.

Asked by John Johnson over 10 years ago

Unless it has been changed most recently the rule book states, "No logo, marking, lettering, etc. is permitted on the backboard, backboard padding, or basket."

A dribbling player loose control of the ball and hits the referee. He catches the ball with two hands and continues to dribble. Is this a traveling violation?

Asked by Max over 10 years ago

The referee is considered part of the floor, so if the player catches the ball with 2 hands after dribbling and bouncing off a referee, it is double dribble.  

If this was not the rule then the following could happen:

if a player was trapped with an official nearby, he could bounce the ball off the official and get a new dribble. This is not the intention, so the referee is part of the floor, and a player DOES NOT get a new dribble after bouncing off the ref.