Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

DIAGONAL DIVE DROP STEP... how is this move NOT a travel? both feet move before the shot is taken

2:35 of the video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ef2sY59Ko8k

Asked by mike w over 9 years ago

OK, here is what I saw. He gets the ball while both feet are planted. So either foot can be the pivot foot. He lifts up his left foot which makes his right foot his pivot foot. he then steps onto his left foot and lifts his right foot. At this point he cannot move or slide his left foot nor can he touch the right foot on the floor. From here he must shoot or pass. Looks to me like a legitimate basketball move and no violation.

It is hard to understand this fact about traveling: it is not illegal to lift your pivot foot per se. If you could not lift your pivot foot how could you ever shoot a traditional layup?

player is out of bounds player in bounds throws the ball and hits the player out of bounds who's ball is it

Asked by peanut over 9 years ago

If player A1 is in bounds and throws the ball which hits out of bounds player B1 the throw in is awarded to team A.

warriors player A throws the ball in bounds from under the basket, lions player A defending the pass deflects it, it hits the warrior player who passed it, who has not moved from his out of bounds spot, who's ball?

Asked by coach crookes about 11 years ago

Lions ball on a throw in.

Defensive player A fouls Offensive player B on the way to the basket. Player B takes another step and charges hard into defensive player C standing under the basket. Is there an offensive foul as well?

Asked by Pittfall over 10 years ago

This is an unusual play with the foul on defensive player A being called. Normally, a second foul could is ignored as long as it is unintentional because the first foul made the ball dead. If the offensive player is on the ground and fouled, then steps into a charge the charge would be ignored.

But here is an interesting twist. What if Offensive player B is an airborne shooter fouled in the act of shooting by defender A but plows into defender B before touching the floor. The ball is not dead when an airborne shooter is fouled until they hit the floor so technically this could be called a simultaneous foul and go to the possession arrow. In practice, most officials will call the foul on defender A and ignore the subsequent player control foul (charge).

If a player shoots the ball, can he recover the rebound if it is an airball, before it hits the ground?

Asked by Ed almost 10 years ago

In NFHS rules a player can recover a try even if fails to hit the basket ring or the floor as long as it is a legitimate try. NCAA and pro rules are different.

Another Backcourt question:- Once front court status is achieved. Team A passes to teammate, but hits the hand of team B (Defense) and then hits the hand of team A's teammate and goes backcourt. (neither team a or team b's player is in "control")

Asked by MJ almost 11 years ago

Team control ends when there is a try or tip, an opponent secures control, or the ball becomes dead.  Hitting the hand of player B does not constitute control so I would say if the ball is picked up by team a in the backcourt it is a violation.

Is it illegal for a player to stand directly in front of the defender and be in-between the person with the ball and the defender and to remain there. It restricts the defender to guard his shot and may cause a foul on the defender for going into him

Asked by Alex Orlando about 10 years ago

Yes it is legal. In the rule book it is called a screen (assuming it is legally obtained).