Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Don't know if there is a difference between pro and college. If both teams commit a dead ball foul (both personal fouls), why wouldn't those fouls offset?

Asked by dmuellenberg@comcast.net over 5 years ago

Personal fouls don't offset. Dead ball fouls all get enforced in the order of occurence. They would not offset since, by "definition", they are fouls that occurred after a play - they should not have happened.

What rule would be violated (if any) if the O-line decided to hold hands after the snap [and essentially play a version of Red Rover] when pass protecting?

Asked by sploxy over 5 years ago

That's interlocked interference. In college, the rule states, "Teammates of the ball carrier or passer may interfere for him by blocking but shall not use interlocked interference by grasping or encircling one another in any manner while contacting an opponent." Besides the fact that their hands or arms might get broken!

How do I remove myself from this site

Asked by Steve in motown over 5 years ago

You'll have to ask someone who knows that answer.

In high school do we need to have 5 lineman numbers in the game for special teams?

Asked by Old guy over 5 years ago

You're looking at NFHS Rule 7-2-5. On downs 1, 2, and 3, you need five lineman numbered 50-79. Exception: if the team shifts into a scrimmage kick formation, only the center can be a numbering exception. On fourth down, or a kick try, you can have numbering exceptions on the line, players other than 50-79.

Why no dead ball call when the sfo db was clearly out of bounds,started to strip the ball from the sea receiver,come back in bounds,while the receiver still had possession of rhe ball,and then successfully strip the ball for a fumble?

Asked by JO over 5 years ago

The rules analyst on the game, John Parry, explained that since the ball carrier had possession in bounds, the ball was alive with the runner in bounds. That despite the fact that the defender had a foot out of bounds. Since the strip of the ball occurred in the field of play, at least according to what Parry said, the ball was still alive.

Have you ever had a incident where people where throwing trash and things?

Asked by James almost 5 years ago

Personally no. From the folks I know and work with in high school and college, never. I some officisls who have worked semi-pro with a lot less organization and mostly no security; they've had some scary moments but never stuff thrown on the field.

A fumble by the offense that goes out of bounds in the field of play is awarded to the offense at the point that it went out of bounds. A fumble out of the endzone by the offense is given to the defense, why?

Asked by Steve in Motown over 5 years ago

Steve, you're asking the same question. I can't answer it any differently. There is consistency in the fact that when the offense puts the ball into their opponents endzone (e.g. punt) it's a touchback. Same here.