Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
Don't know the play but...
OLs can be beyond the LOS. They can't be more than three yards downfield when the ball is thrown. So it may not be a foul at all.
That's interlocked interference. In college, the rule states, "Teammates of the ball carrier or passer may interfere for him by blocking but shall not use interlocked interference by grasping or encircling one another in any manner while contacting an opponent." Besides the fact that their hands or arms might get broken!
They're correct. Ball is inbounds and is still a live ball.
You'll have to ask someone who knows that answer.
Help Desk Technician
Lifeguard
Are most public pools just gross lakes of bodily fluids?
Certified Nurse Aide
What's it like going into a room in the morning to find someone dead?
I didn't see this play so I'm not sure what to rule. If a ball carrier (QB or other) extends the ball and he isn't yet down (or forward progress ruled), then the ball is still alive. If Peterson is also on the Bears (sorry, don't know) and he recovers behind the line, then that is where the succeeding spot (next snap) takes place. If Peterson is on the other team, it's their ball if the loose ball (Keenum's fumble) is still alive. As I said, simply because the ball crossed the line to gain, if the play is still alive, then we don't have a first down.
They can hold him up, but can't "hold". Is there grabbing? Yes. But the restriction has to be more than "chicken fighting" down the field. And if it's a double team, it is less likely to be called since the receivers are giving up an extra player in the blocking.
The rules analyst on the game, John Parry, explained that since the ball carrier had possession in bounds, the ball was alive with the runner in bounds. That despite the fact that the defender had a foot out of bounds. Since the strip of the ball occurred in the field of play, at least according to what Parry said, the ball was still alive.
-OR-
Login with Facebook (max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
Register with Facebook(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)