Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
Are you talking about the Steelers? I think I saw that one and I tilted my head on it when I first saw it..
From what you wrote I'm not sure that is physically possible - to hit with a foot and have that same foot slide out. And what you describe sounds incomplete - because the first foot is out of bounds when the second hits.
That being said, what I saw was the first foot still in as the second one touched.
Me, too. I thought the rulings last year were extreme - a fairly light contact - that even QBs didn't complain about - were fouls. I didn't see the Foles hit so I can't comment.
Loose ball - replay the down.
You put in a bunch of good stuff in this question. I have to make a few inferences. You say there isn't enough time [to spike and kick]. That likely means it is the end of a quarter. If it's the end of the second or fourth quarter, we have some special rules. First, if the clock is running (ref marked it ready so it is) and a penalty (the false start) causes the clock to stop, then the offended team (defense here) has the option of a ten second runoff. Here, you say there isn't enough time to spike it and then get your FG team on for a kick. With a ten second runoff, the period might be over. Also, in college, if there are less than three seconds left, you can't spike it and get another play in. Timing is everything.
"The Onion" Contributors
What's your favorite Onion headline of all time?
Special Education Teacher
Should special-needs students be separated from other students?
Antiques Dealer
How easy is it to forge a rare piece, and are fakes a big problem in the antiquing world?
Spot of the foul - the 40
I think they erred on that enforcement. They got the yardage on the PAT in order to go for two. There should not have been yardage on the KO.
Until the chains are set, it is still the interval between the last play and the next snap. So you mark off the penalty before you technically declared the first down. Therefore you set the chains after you mark off the penalty.
-OR-
Login with Facebook (max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
Register with Facebook(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)