Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

2nd and 5 from the 20 yard line. Their is a 30 yard run to the 50. But their is a block in the back at the 40. Where do you mark off yardage from?

Asked by JB about 7 years ago

Spot of the foul - the 40

The ball is on the 50 yard line. On a touchdown run their is a holding call at the 20 yard line. Where is the foul marked off from?

Asked by The StripedOne over 6 years ago

Run ended in the endzone, foul occured behind the spot. Mark off from the spot of the foul - the 20 yard line.

Do ever try and sabotage a team out of bias?

Asked by Ricky almost 6 years ago

Well, Ricky, I was going to be snarky and say something appropriately mean spirited, but I decided to just answer the question.

No.

In High School football on a defensive pass interference call can it be overturned if one official deems it uncatchable

Asked by Scot Voight about 6 years ago

There is no "uncatchable" in high school. So, no.

Famous nfl game a decade or two ago: 20 sec or so remaining. Trying to run out clock. Snapped ball, everyone on offense blatantly held defense players. Comical. Clock ran out. No penalty assessed. Game over. Can this still be done today?

Asked by JAMES FRANCIS about 6 years ago

Not sure of specifics of this game (I really don't recall it) but that would come under rules covering unfair acts, in which case a referee could take any action he considers equitable (NCAA Rule 9-2-3). I don't see how you could ignore the fouls.

Does a play have to be over in order to call timeout? For example, in last week’s MNF the Saints through a pass in the middle of the field and the down receiver was touched by a Texan ending play. Could Texan not touched and run out clock?

Asked by Larry about 6 years ago

I'm not sure what the touching of a player has to do with this. Yes, a play has to end in order to call time out. If a player isn't touched - downing him in the NFL - but he doesn't get up, he's in essence giving himself - and the play - up (like a QB sliding). So, not specifically knowing the NFL philosophy, the play has ended if the receiver doesn't get up and the Saints could call TO as soon as the officials blow it dead.

Don't know if there is a difference between pro and college. If both teams commit a dead ball foul (both personal fouls), why wouldn't those fouls offset?

Asked by dmuellenberg@comcast.net almost 6 years ago

Personal fouls don't offset. Dead ball fouls all get enforced in the order of occurence. They would not offset since, by "definition", they are fouls that occurred after a play - they should not have happened.