Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

please settle a bar argument, In college basketball can you ever take 2 steps that would not be considered traveling?

Asked by java about 11 years ago

Traveling in college is defined the same way as in high school.  So the answer to your question depends on how the player caught the ball and if he is entitled to a pivot foot.

1) if you catch the ball with both feet on the floor, either foot can be the pivot.

2) if you catch the ball in the air and land simultaneously on both feet, either can be the pivot.  If one foot hits the floor first it must be the pivot.  However, if you catch the ball in the air hop on one foot then land on both feet, neither can be a pivot.

3) once you have established your pivot foot you can lift the pivot but must pass or shoot before the pivot returns to the floor. (and of course you cannot hop on your non-pivot foot if the pivot foot is in the air).

So to answer your question with an illustration, imagine catching the ball midair (or ending a dribble) your right foot lands first (that is your pivot) then you step forward with your left foot lifting up your right, and before your right hits the floor you shoot a layup.  This is a legal basketball move.

People want to say that you get 1 & 1/2 steps or you get 2 steps.  Neither of these are correct.  It depends on whether you are entitled to a pivot or not, and then you can lift up the pivot and onto your non pivot but you must shoot or pass before the pivot hits the floor.

Are there reserve refs at games/tournaments? What happens if one gets injured?

Asked by Tyrone almost 11 years ago

In Illinois, in each championship weekend (2 for boys & 2 for girls) there are 6 officials.  Each official works 2 games, but if one were injured they could press one from the other crew into action.  In addition, the tournament usually attracts several high level officials as spectators so there are plenty in reserve.  Every state does this differently.

What would the penalty be for a high school basketball player if he got mad and spit on one of the referees?

Asked by Tee almost 12 years ago

I would immediately throw the player out of the game with a flagrant technical.  In Illinois, the player would also be suspended for the next game.

Is there a move I'll call an air dribble, where an aggressive defender presses and I open handed pat the ball over him to continue dribbling. Can I retrieve the ball and not dribble, but pass

Asked by rimbreaker over 10 years ago

From the federation rule book, "During a dribble the ball may ve batted into the air provided it is permitted tp strike the floor before the is touched again with the dribbler's hand(s).

So, in you question you could retrieve the ball after it strikes the floor or continue dribbling PROVIDING you have not palmed or carried the ball.

My kid is thinking ab giving up JV basketball because playing time is going to zero bc of fouls.

He has elite strength & is getting called for backing up bigs w his bum, "moving people" when grabbing all ball, etc.

Any Suggestions?

Asked by Mike over 11 years ago

I am not a coach, but I will venture an opinion and a recomendation. 

He probably goes to a position on the floor, "feels" the defender, and backs into the him.  One thing refs are taught about contact low in the blocks is to call a foul on the player who dislodges the opponent.  So if he sizes up the defender and then uses his rear end to create space, the refs will call a foul for moving the opponent,  I know, big players are taught to use their bodies to block out and create space, but when it is so obvious that he is dislodging the other player it is a foul.  So, what is a big strong player to do? Bluntly speaking, use his feet more than his ass.  Create space by hustling to a place closer to the basket, then hold your ground and let the defender dislodge you for a foul. 

How does a big player get lighter on his feet?  Running and jump rope are the best ways I know.  Sounds like somewhere along the way someone taught him lazy block out technique if he is constantly in foul trouble. 

Have you spoken to his coach about the foul trouble?  I bet the tape shows that he is dislodging players without moving his feet.

Honestly,I think I was ejected from the game because there was a break in game play a T.O was called. So when play was about to resume I told my daughter and our other pg to just keep driving hard and make the ref blow his whistle and do his job

Asked by Ronald Poke over 10 years ago

In a local baseball league, they implemented a rule that if a player or parent was tossed from a game, the player was ruled ineligible until the parent umpired a game at his/her level of choice. The league has a handful of letters of apology from parents who tried (quite unsuccessfully) to umpire games.

If I might be so bold as to suggest that you become patched for basketball in your state, attend summer camp to get trained, and work some games next year. You will gain a better understanding of the game, probably help your daughter's game and you will watch her play a little calmer.

I was officiating a game and was on the sideline when I turned to run up court and I collided with the coach.. The coach fell to the court I and I immediately issued a technical foul. The coach was borderline in the black area when when we collided.

Asked by Rick about 11 years ago

The coach (assuming he has not been seatbelted with a technical foul prior to this) is entitled to stand inside the coach's box, which is out of bounds.  If the coach was out of bounds or his foot was on the line the collusion, though unfortunate, is not a technical foul.  If the coach was squarely in bounds which casued the collision then it should be called a T.  Borderline, I would pass.