Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Is the big kid condemned to not getting fouls called? My son was the tallest and most athletic. He drove to the hole and drew 4 smaller defenders banging clutching holding grabbing so shots never made it to rim, but no call most of the time.

Asked by RodK over 11 years ago

In youth basketball it is common to be biased against the biggest kids.  It is unfair, but it happens.  If there is a silver lining it is that your son will be well prepared for AAU and high school rough play.  Although unfair, it is better for your son to toughen up then for him to not develop because he is currently bigger than his teammates.  Read the book, "Play Their Hearts Out" for a real story of the next LeBron who was the best player in the country in middle school, but flattened out at 6'2" as a senior in high school.

gametied and theres2.6 sec left on the clock whenthe opp team is fouled while dribb thenshoots. The appointed ref says on the ground foul the other ref comes in after foul is called & says no shooting foul and they shoot 2 free throws is thisallowed

Asked by Aziz Mikha about 11 years ago

There is no provision in the NFHS book which grants disputes between referees except that the official designated as the "referee" (as opposed to official 1 and 2) has the responsibility to resolve uncovered issues.

When two referees disagree, the way it should work is as follows: Official 1 makes a call. Official 2 sees it a different way and the two officials privately discuss it.  Official 1 needs to be convinced.  If official 1 decides official 2's call is the correct one, then official 1 should signal the correct call, and be prepared to defend it with the coaches.

3 point shot gets tipped by defender then shot hits rim then goes out of bounds whose ball is it. (The tip didn't alter the shot or the path of the ball )

Asked by Tommy willits about 12 years ago

The ball is always awarded to the team opposite of the one who touches the ball last.  The rim or backboard does not erase the last person to touch the ball.  So in your question the defensive player is the last to touch the ball (ever so slightly) and the ball goes back to the shooter's team.

Does the over the top of backboard rule apply to fan-shaped backboards? Can you post link of official ruling, thank you.

Asked by CASH almost 12 years ago

Rule 7 in the NFHS rule book is the chapter on Out of Bounds and The Throw In.  Section 1, Article 2b states, "The ball is out of bounds when it passes over a rectangular backboard.   By excluding fan shaped backboards it means a ball passing over fan shaped is NOT out of bounds.

starting game jump shot is tipped down court our guy gets it goes for basket. it goes in and ref counts it as shot for other team. is this correct?

Asked by donna over 11 years ago

I think you are asking this question: A1 gets the ball from the opening tip in his backcourt and shoots the ball into B1's basket (his oppponent's basket).  How is it scored? 

If this is your question, the answer is count the basket for team B, and A gets the ball for a throw in in their backcourt.

Is there a rule about the amount of time that should occur between two consecutive Technical fouls on one player? (Like ref calls technical, waits, calls another technical on the same player. ie. time for coach to get player to cool off)

Asked by Jojo over 11 years ago

Yes there is a time limit because the player has been disqualified on the 2nd technical which is treated no differently than a player being assesed his 5th foul - the coach has 30 seconds to replace the player.  A cohesive ref crew should handle it ideally like this:  1) the ref who calls the 2nd T should be a different official than the one who calls the 1st T, 2) the ref calling the 2nd T should report the foul and inform the coach that the player has been disqualified, 3) a different official should escort the disqualified player to the bench, and 3) inform the coach that he has 30 seconds to replace the player, and 4) ask the timer to begin a 30 second count.  If the coach is so mad that he refuses to send a replacement player in, then one the official should warn the coach of delay of game, and if necessary assess a technical on the coach.  Hopefully it never gets to this level, but it could.

Non shooting foul is committed in penalty situation, 1 & 1. PA announcer calls 2 shots and the ref hands the ball to shooter andsays 2 shots also. First shot is missed and shooting team get rebound and put back. Can coach argue the mixup?

Asked by Coach K over 11 years ago

The coach can argue mixup all he wants, but it shouldn't matter.  Awarding an unearned free throw is correctible, but all points and fouls earned before the error is detected count.  In this case, an extra free throw was not awarded - the referees simply misled the lane rebounders, and that is NOT correctible.  So, argue til you are blue in the face, and call it lousy officiating, but the play and points by rule stand.