Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Why is a quarterback not charged for "intentional grounding" when he spikes the ball?

Asked by Les over 8 years ago

The rules allow the player who "first controls the snap" to immediately throw it to the ground without being called for grounding.

Why in the Lions Green bay game was the Packers awarded the ball on a kickoff that didn't go out of bounds but the player did and was out of bounds when he recovered the ball on the 2 yard line . The Lions were given a 15 yard penalty.

Asked by Robert lozon about 9 years ago

I answered this one above but.....

If the ball touches anything that's out of bounds, the ball is out of bounds. Therefore if the player is out of bounds - or straddling the line - then the ball is a kick out of bounds and a foul against the kicking team.

In the game tonight, Cam was taken down behind the line of scrimmage, why isn’t that recorded as a Sack?

Asked by Setty about 8 years ago

Officials don't deal with statistics so I can't answer definitively. If it was,a "dezigned" run from thecstaff, then he's a runner, not a passer, hence no sack (?).

ie-your answer to on-side kick with 1 second remaining. What if there was a foul on the other team after the kicking team recovered the ball? Game can't end on a defensive foul, but don't know if that counts as a defensive foul.

Asked by Daryl Muellenberg almost 9 years ago

With one second remaining, a "recovery" sort of implies the receiver was either catching it and goibg to tbe ground or on the ground at the recovery. On a legal touch, the clock winds. So if the foul occured after the reception, it happened after the clock expired. The period (game?) is over.

In the NFL if a player possesses the ball and a teammate standing partially out of bounds contacts him is the ball considered out of bounds?

Asked by Ron almost 9 years ago

Well, based on what we saw on the Giants-Packers game, no. My understanding on other levels is if a player (ball carrier) comes on contact with something or someone out of bounds, then he is out of bounds. But...

Has there ever been an NFL fame where they did not kick a field go when they were in field goal range and it was almost halftime?

Asked by Sean Duong almost 9 years ago

Sorry, this isn't a trivia or history site.

can you add some light on what the rule is for blocking down field for a screen pass. Can the receivers block the defender before the ball is caught by the offense player behind the LOS?

Asked by Josiah over 8 years ago

If a pass does not cross the line of scrimmage (screen) then a) you can't have ineligibles down field and b) you can't have pass interference (offense or defense). In the NFL, they are tighter with lineman, only giving them a yard downfield to block on passes behind the LOS. So, yes, receivers downfield can block before the pass is thrown as long as the pass was caught behind the LOS.