Rndballref
20 Years Experience
Chicago, IL
Male, 60
For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage
If you use centrifical force to move and control the ball you are carrying the ball in violation of the dribbling rules if you have given up your pivot foot.
Yes, in the extreme you are right. Most bench players enter the court to fight so the rule is constructed to contain any fisticuffs. But you sight a legit situation where they may save someone, so maybe it should be a judgement call.
In NFHS rules a coach must submit a roster of players for that game 10 minutes before the start of the game. It is s technical foulnto insert a player who is not on that list, but it is allowed.
Yes. As i have stated a million times you cannot travel in the middle of a legit dribbling sequence. You can jump, spin around, rub your belly etc., as long as you are able to contunue dribbling after your nonsense without double dribbling.
Nightclub Promoter
Chef
Toll Collector
On the first infraction of ctossing thru the throw in boundary, a warning dhould be called and the scorer should note that in the book. It is a warning unless the defender reaches thru and contacts the player or the ball.
The second violation of any teammate reaching thru without contact or the first contact reaching thru with contact is a technical foul.
The rule prohibits a player from voluntarily leaving the court. so if the player went out of bounds purposely to get around a defender it is a violation. If however the player jumped to save the ball and landed out of bounds, he may step back in and gain control of the ball. He cannot pick up the ball and dribble, because throwing the ball while saving it constitutes the start of a dribble.
Yes, he can if the arm is within his vertical space. However, once the defender pushes the arm forward and moves the offensive player (arm bar) then it is a foul,
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)