Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

On an inbounds play after a made basket, can the inbounding player dribble the ball while still out of bounds?

Asked by Oldhoopster almost 9 years ago

Yes. But if he bounces the ball inbounds it would be a violation.

Sorry, does that mean I can't go up on the balls of my feet ? I was just wanting to get a little extra fake like I am going to jump and shoot but don't.

Asked by Doug over 8 years ago

Yes you can go on the ball of your pivot foot without traveling. Most of the time players would use the ball of their pivot foot to well, um pivot!

Is it a violation or alternating possession if the ball lodges between rim and backboard on the last free throw

Asked by Mindy about 9 years ago

Alternating possession.

A offense of foul so many Officials get this one wrong when do you think a offense of foul should be called

Asked by Jacob The official almost 9 years ago

The ref on the endline should "referee the defense". It is hard to do because you naturally want to watch the ball, but if the endline referee focuses on the tracking the defenders hr will most often get the block/charge decision correct.

last nite Tufts/Amherst game: foul shooter got boxed out & knocked down before her shot hit the rim. foul called on girl boxing out. shooter given a 1&1. correct call but are you ever allowed to displace {knock down} when boxing out?

Asked by midd44 over 8 years ago

No, you can never displace a player who is entitled to that space. The legal act of boxing out is continuously moving to spots before the opponent is entitled to those spots.

Our game went to ot the refs jumped the ball the wrong way. Our kid got the ball and went and scored in the wrong basket and was fouled. The refs restarted the ot and the basket didn't count what would you have done

Asked by Andy over 8 years ago

Baskets scored counts. Stop the game as soon as you realize you have them going the wrong way and turn them around. Do not restart the ot.

Drammond Green is on the list as not playing in today's game . Can the coach change his mind during the game and play him ?

Asked by Debbie over 8 years ago

In NFHS rules a coach must submit a roster of players for that game 10 minutes before the start of the game. It is s technical foulnto insert a player who is not on that list, but it is allowed.