Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

2 players dive on the floor for a loose ball. 1 player obtains possession while still on the floor and rolls over a couple of times before he passes the ball .

Is this considered traveling

Asked by Paul mcgrath almost 9 years ago

Usually, the refs will allow a slight sliding once a diving player has possession. But as soon as a player rolls over it is travelling.

Hi Ref, while watching my daughters high school games, lately I don't understand calls/not calls when shots are blocked. Assuming no body contact, can you explain the rule and when you might call/not call a foul on a blocked shot? Thx

Asked by P_Johnston over 9 years ago

Assuming no body contact, the foul.no foul call would be because of illegal use of hands. That includes the follow through on a shot. One caveat is that if an offensive player has her hand on the ball it is not a foul for the defender to contact that hand (not the arm or wrist).

I am not sure I have answered your question, maybe you can spell out more specifically what kind of action you are concerned about?

What's your worst blown call? And on a related note, if you make a bad call and you know it, is it hard not to try and "make good" with a favorable call to the other team later in the game?

Asked by Swisha-mang over 13 years ago

I once passed on a block/charge situation because I thought it was one of my partner's call. I was wrong and it was mine to make. So, nothing was called even when the players went sprawling. Both coaches were pissed, and were right. There was a foul in there, and a no call was horrible. By the way, some of my best calls were no calls, even when the crowd howls for something. I am so conscious of not coming back with a make-up call that I think I overcompensate and dig in to the detriment of the team whose call I booted.

During a boy's high school basketball in California, the referee ran in front of a player as his teammate thru him the ball. The ball hit the referee in the stomach and went out for bounds. The refs gave the ball to the opposite team. Was this right

Asked by Margaret over 9 years ago

Yes, it is correct. The ref is part of the floor where he stands. The last player to touch the ball before it goes out of bounds is responsible, and therefore the ball gets awarded to the other team.

Is juggling a loose ball (not yet have possession, still trying to get hold of the ball) from a pass while running toward basket considered violation/travel?

Asked by Alan almost 9 years ago

By definition, you cannot travel if you have not established possession. If you are tapping or bobbling the ball it is a referee judgement call if you have possession.

If you see a replay after a game and realize you blew a call, do you admit it or apologize next time you ref a game for the team you screwed?

Asked by paul over 13 years ago

I admit it during a game if I boot a call. Most coaches would favor honesty as in, "hey coach you are probably right about that last call - after thinking about it I think I made the wrong call", as opposed to trying to argue something you realize is not true. So if there was a question of rule or angle of play, and if I determined that I made a bad call or applied a rule in error I would definitely contact the coach and explain what my thinking was, and why I now think I may have been wrong. That's me, other ref's never ever say they made a bad call.

A Offensive player1 throws ball for fast break, Offensive Player2 tries to catch it, a Defender runs from behind and creates body contact using his shoulder causing Player2 off course. Is it considered a foul?

Asked by Alan over 9 years ago

Yes, as you describe it the offensive player was knocked off a position he was entitled to.