Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

If i use my hand to cover above the ball while blocking, is it a foul ?

Photo below:

https://scontent-sin1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xtp1/v/t1.0-9/11873769_603356226473260_5119252297836444102_n.jpg?oh=2d1cc071751c4f6162384282521fbe0b&oe=5682BA4E

Asked by AnhHai over 9 years ago

The correct call for this picture is "held ball". Or people call it "jump ball". A held ball is when two opponents are holding the ball together or pushing the ball simultaneously. No foul,call it a jump ball.

After a made basket and time out even though you can run the baseline can the referee dictate your starting spot?

Asked by Buzzerbeater about 9 years ago

Yes the end line official designates the spot to start in.

Why would a Ref call a tech on a player swearing earlier in the game but not on a push/shove that almost created a brawl?

Asked by Yohann about 12 years ago

I only called technical fouls on players for swearing when it was aimed at an opposing player or me. A push or shove can be a either common, intentional, or technical foul depending on the severity and situation.

In the bonus time of a game what fouls don't constitute shooting a 1 and 1 or 2 shots in double bonus?

Asked by Pricesportsg@aol.com about 9 years ago

In each half, when an opponent has committed the 7th team foul, the player is awarded a 1 and 1 for non shooting common fouls. When that opponent has committed its 10th team foul the player is awarded 2 free throws for non shooting common fouls.

Regardless of the team foul count on shooting fouls, if the basket was made the shooter gets 1 free throw. If the basket was not made on a shooting foul the shooter is awarded 2 or 3 free throws depending on where the shot was attempted.

Team A is inbounding the ball in their front court. On the throw-in, the ball deflects off of player A1 and the ball continues into the back court. Is it a violation if a team member of Team A is the first to touch the ball in the back court.

Asked by ME over 8 years ago

The ball achieves front court status NOT on the throw in, but when the offensive team obtains ball control in their front court. In your example, the deflection (unless deliberate) would not constitute ball control, so no backcourt violation.

So I'm a basketball starter and I don't know the basics,don't've a coach and I suck all my teamates are experienced and instead of teaching or helping they humiliate me I don't want to quite I want help

Asked by Yari almost 9 years ago

You should spend time in 2 places: 1) the library which will have many books about fundamental skill development, and 2) a park where you can hone these skills. If you lack basic skills how are you a starter?

If you have 5 seconds to in bound the basketball to a teammate, how come when players let the ball roll down court it's not a 5 second violation? As I see it the ball is not inbounded if no one touches it.

Asked by Tniz almost 9 years ago

The in bounder has 5 seconds to release the ball. The restriction is satisfied as soon as he releases the throw in.