Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

a person in possession of the ball jumps to shoot the ball, one defender tries to hit the ball down, another defender tries to hit the ball up. the ball doesn't move and the shooter comes back down to his feet still in possession. what's the call?

Asked by Ethan about 12 years ago

If the ball is being pushed in opposite directions by two opponents, as in an attempted shot never leaving the shooter's hand but being blocked by a defender it is a held (jump) ball.  If the ball is knocked loose by a defender out of the shooter's hand and the shooter recovers the ball then no call.  If the defender marginally touches the ball and the shooter maintains continuous posession and lands back on the floor then it is travelling.

Hey Ref, I play in Ireland, and they follow the FIBA rules. I was fouled out in a game and so headed to the bench. While on the bench, I was assessed for a technical foul for clapping ( taunting I guess?) Is it possible to get a T after fouling out?

Asked by Big man Ped over 11 years ago

Let me guess ... you were sarcastically clapping at the ref's call that fouled you out?  Sounds like a thin-skinned official!

In NFHS rules a disqualified player must remain on the bench or be sent to the lockerroom with supervision.  So, while on the bench it is possible to receive a T.  Not only is the player assessed with a T, but the coach is assessed with an indirect T.

what happens when a coach calls a time out just when his player fouled by the opponent? Can the referee call the time-out first and assess the foul?

Asked by Sanaa over 12 years ago

A foul committed after the ball is "dead" is ignored by rule book unless it is flagrant or intentional.  The official must determine which happened first, the time out request or the foul.  If the foul was committed first, they should report the foul and then the official should ask the coach if they still want the time out or not.  If the time out was granted first, and the foul was neither intentional or flagrant then the foul is ignored.  If the foul during a dead ball is intentional or flagrant it is a technical foul.

Are you more likely to call a foul on a player you don't like? Or at the very least not give him the benefit of the doubt?

Asked by rainman over 12 years ago

I try not to, but it happens. If a player challenges me I won't back down even in a big game. Being perceived as a punk player can only work to your detriment.

Can a basketball coach walk onto the court while the game is being played?

Asked by cindy w about 12 years ago

Technically a coach is not allowed on the court and the penalty is a technical foul.  But here is where experience matters.  If a coach breached inbounds but was not inyerferring with the play he should be gently directed back to the bench.  If he is in the way of a play or a ref then a T should be called.  Even on a time out I would not let a coach come onto the court - instead I would walk back to the bench and the coach always follows. A coach puposely charging a ref on a court is the coach's way of showing up a ref and should noy be tolerated - but does not have to be a T.

Before the tip off an official said that the player had to stand next to his opponent and could not stand behind him. Is this correct?

Asked by Dean over 11 years ago

No it is not correct.  There are 2 restrictions on non-jumpers beside the one about being adjacent if the other team wants in.  Once the referee is ready to toss the ball, and until the ball is tossed, a non-jumper shall not 1) move around the circle, and 2) move onto the circle from away. So a non-jumper can stand behind an opponent as long as he does not infringe on the opponent's right to his vertical space.

On last second throw in clock starts early & horn goes off as ball sails over inbound players untouched. Is it "do-over" or doews it below to other team and where?

Asked by Bob Moe about 12 years ago

The clock should be started when the ball is touched by an in-bounds player.  If the ball is thrown out of bounds without being touched, the clock should not have been started.  In your scenario, the clock should be reset to the exact time before the throw-in and the ball should be awarded to the other team for a new throw-in.